We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED the San Luis!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for a girl's weekend and it was so much fun! The room was nice and hotel is beautiful. I had room service breakfast and it was divine. Definitely want to go back as soon as I can. The pool atmosphere is very festive and fun and the views are fantastic. Highly recommend the San Luis!!

Room Tip: The higher floor the better for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmyintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

It's so exciting to hear you had a great girls weekend this spring! We can't wait to have you return and stay with us again.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,925 - 1,931 of 2,426 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the San Luis Resort for a nursing convention in late April. From the moment we pulled up to the Valet attendent until we claimed our truck 3 days later, our experience was top notch. Check in was quick and effecient and my room was spectacular. I was in a king room on the 8th floor with the most beautiful views of the pool and gulf. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Double sinks in the huge bathroom with spa inspired lotions/shampoos/soaps. The pool area is one of the best on the island. The H2O bar is a great night spot and has a swim up bar too. The front desk staff was helpful and somehow managed to use my name every single day!! Ordered room service breakfast one morning and it was excellent and well worth the expense. Dinner in the steakhouse one night was on par of Ruth Chris'. Overall, I cannot recommend this resort high enough! I will not be staying anywhere else on the island ever again!!!

Room Tip: Higher the better. I was on the 8th floor and it was quiet and had great views. King rooms were s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjsmoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We hope your group had a successful meeting at our recently renovated conference center. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope you'll return soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our company had our conference at this hotel and I was very pleased! Check in was very smooth and quick. The view from my room was beautiful!! It made Galveston's dirty water look good!! It was the most peaceful and relaxing view that I have experienced in some time. Everyone was very accommodating and the atmosphere very pleasant. Would love to return but the prices are kinda steep!! I plan to return again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room because they all face the gulf!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We hope you and your colleagues had a successful meeting at our recently renovated conference center. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The family and I have stayed at the San Luis a few times now, staring right after Hurricane Ike (to support local business). Even while in recuperation mode, they still concentrated on US. In the times we have stayed, there have been a few bumps; sometimes the four star steakhouse can snub newcomers a little, and pay your account with a credit card, NOT check card (I have had some scary computer errors empty a checking account with them, triple billing which was quickly corrected with bank fees paid, etc) . But the views are fantastic and the H2O pool/bar is awesome. We can walk the sea wall (which is right outside the entrance) and come back to the H2O bar for a cocktail at sunset while the teenagers hang in the pool just a few feet away. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Book floor number ten. This floor offers special perks for guests. Buffet, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us- walking along Seawall, cocktails at H2o and a dinner at The Steakhouse. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager

The family and I have stayed at the San Luis a few times now, staring right after Hurricane Ike (to support local business). Even while in recuperation mode, they still concentrated on US. In the times we have stayed, there have been a few bumps; sometimes the four star steakhouse can snub newcomers a little, and pay your account with a credit card, NOT check card (I have had some scary computer errors empty a checking account with them, triple billing which was quickly corrected with bank fees paid, etc) . But the views are fantastic and the H2O pool/bar is awesome. We can walk the sea wall (which is right outside the entrance) and come back to the H2O bar for a cocktail at sunset while the teenagers hang in the pool just a few feet away. Beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was a bit afraid that such a large hotel would be cold and impersonal..Not so... What a lovely place, open, airy rooms, great quiet bar and wonderful restaurant..Nice flowers and extra touches.. Will return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. We're so pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations. We're ready to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The rooms have not been updated for a really long time. For the price, very dated! The overall grounds were fairly nice, however I think the rooms were old. Fresh paint, carpet, tile and a bathroom remodel is very much needed. I feel like nothing has been renovated in a really long time. Valet staff VERY GOOD. very attentive. Shower/bathroom VERY SMALL and ugly/old.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay with us. We are always working to improve our property, so I will share your feedback about your guest room with our managers. Additionally, thank you for mentioning you received great service from our valet staff. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We ended up at the San Luis after we were highly disappointed at the Hotel Galvez. We booked a VIP room. We were greeted with glasses of champange. When we got to our VIP floor there was candy, water, and fruit available at no charge in the hall lobby. In the mornings, the hall lobby had Starbucks coffee and baskets of fruit. Our room was nice and clean. It had a free bottle of champagne, snacks, and 2 bottles of Fiji water. This room also came with free valet service and free buffet breakfast daily. We were not in our room 5 min and the front desk called to make sure we were happy in our room. They also had a turn down service that left you the next days weather forecast along with chocolates. They hotel bar and pool bar was awesome!! The blond at the bar had excellent customer service. She called us by our last name each and every time she spoke to us. I do not remember the last time I felt like I was waited on hand and foot and we travel at least once a month. The hotel is an older hotel, but they have done a really good job keeping it looking great. The gym definitely leaves a little to be desired, but I think the average guest does not even visit the gym. I would return back here every time I go to Galveston.

Room Tip: Go for the VIP Club 10 Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrosMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you so much for leaving feedback about your recent stay on our adults only VIP Club 10 floor. Our employees strive to provide the best guest service possible, so thank you for your comments. We hope you'll return and stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#2 of 51 in Galveston
818 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $209 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing