We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on the Sea Wall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best hotel on the Sea Wall”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We love Galveston bc it is the closest beach to our land-locked state of KS. The San Luis is by far the best value for the money on the beach. The decor is lovely with marble floors and quartz tables in each room and amazing views. Our family of four used one room with room to spare bc the sq ft is quite a bit more than most. The only downside was smallish beds (full - not queens). The service at pool, restaurant, shops, maintenance and front desk was excellent with a staff that seem truly eager to please yet personable. For $10 more per day, you can have a 'fridge put in your room which was very useful for this family on a budget. The hotel is luxurious but not in a prententious way. We were made to feel very welcome and we are no high rollers. The pool is amazing with a great slide and waterfall for the kids and areas for adults, too. The hotel offers a free tram to Pleaaure Pier which is the new boardwalk-style amusement park. Very nice, clean and fun place owned by SLR owner, but a bit pricey and it would be nice if SLR guests rec'd a discount. All in all, SLR will def be our hotel of choice when we return to Galveston. And don't forget to say hi to Phydias the beautiful red parrot in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBoundHounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thanks for choosing The San Luis Resort as your vacation hotel of choice! Great news- we've taken our guest feedback and will soon offer discounted Pleasure Pier passes to our hotel guests, just as you suggest. We'll say hi to Phydias for you and look forward to having you back soon!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    370
    226
    147
    140
See reviews for
591
667
52
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with another couple for my friends birthday. Pulling in at Valet is confusing because it is $30 a night to valet but there is a hidden parking lot in the back but no one mentions that when you are dropping your bags off. Check in was okay, except that we reserved a hotel room on the phone for a set price and they put us in a privately owned condo that only had one queen bed and we had 2 couples. We called to the front desk and they said they were overbooked and tomorrow night we would get a hotel room. We had to sleep on the most uncomfortable sofa bed ever and the condo looked like a flashback from the 80's. The front desk also told us we would receive a discount because of the confusion. That morning I went down to check to make sure we would get a room with 2 beds and to get our discount. Not only was the discount not applied, but we were charged an extra $120 for the condo. What? I talked to the girl who talked to her boss who called the night shift boss, who was asleep and would call later! Finally after lunch she adjusted our rate, then gave us a discount on that. We went to the pool that night to hang out at the bar because it is supposed to be the "Hot" spot to have a drink, but we had heard about the bartenders and to not give them your credit card or charge to your room because they will put extra drinks on your tab. Soooo we paid cash for our drinks and one time we bought 2 beers with a $20 bill. The total was about $8 - the guy kept the change? Really? Oh well that was his tip for the night, but come on. I had my phone at the swim up bar and put it on the bar so it would not get wet. Well it turned up gone after 5 minutes. No one was the bar except us and the bartenders? Hmmm? We searched everywhere, talked to the bartenders about it, and nothing. My husband went to security and they said sorry. After 45 min of searching and going back to our room upon coming back down to the pool area and calling it from another phone we found it on the other side of the pool area 100 feet away. Wonder who stashed it there? Don't really care - got my phone back! All in all the bar staff at the pool are shady.
The next day we went back to the pool to try again. Thank goodness I went for a walk on the beach to check everything out. Didn't realize people start saving chairs at the pool at 7 am. They just put their towels on the chairs and leave. But everyone did it, so I did too. Pool was fun that day with lots of good music and good times. Cute pool guys walked around with frozen grapes, aloe vera, and cool towels. Nice touch! Plus I found my new favorite drink. The raspberry mojito. So good. Our new room had two beds Yay! Fruit flavored Water in the lobby is hidden behind some plants but it is Soooo good. Get it in the morning before its gone.

I would return, but I will for sure double check my bill and I will not Ever trust the bartenders.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us- we hope your friend had a fantastic birthday! Our valet parking is actually $18/night and we do offer complimentary self-parking just behind the hotel. As we do have a limited, yet large quantity of poolside lounge chairs, they usually do fill up when our hotel is full. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary frozen grapes, cold towels and infused waters. I apologize for the mishap with your bar bill and have shared this with our Managers. We look forward to having you return soon!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Loved,Loved Staying In This Hotel! It Is So Beautiful and Relaxing! The Room Was Beyond Clean! With a Beautiful Gulf of Mexico View,The Room Had Complimentary Water, which was Great, the Beds are sooo comfy. And The Room was just Beautiful.Every Employee that I Would Run into would greet you,and Check in, and Check out was so Great! Asking if I Had enjoyed my stay,just very Nice. The Pool Is oh My Gosh! So Great!! So Beautiful,and Relaxing Loved The Music, and The Delicous Drinks They Serve and Relaxing Atmoshphere. If Your Looking For A Relaxing getaway this is the place to go! You will Not Regret it! I Loved It So Much Cant Wait to Go Back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ST333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
So glad to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us and we look forward to having you back soon!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Such an amazing experience at this hotel, definitely unmatched anywhere else on the island. My husband and I were looking to celebrate our 20th anniversary with a top-notch experience and we were not disappointed. This is not a "biggest bang for your buck" kind of hotel. We were under no illusions about what the cost was going to be. For us, it was truly an indulgence but we felt the expense worth it to celebrate this moment in our lives. The service was outstanding. Unlike another reviewer, we hardly went anywhere that we didn't see a manager and spoke with them on several occasions to complement their staff, particularly poolside. The spa services are wonderful, professional and relaxing. Don't miss the opportunity to have a massage poolside or in your room. The food at The Steakhouse was excellent as was the staff. Very knowledgeable when quizzed about various menu items. If I were going to make any recommendations it would be to add extra front-desk staff during check-in and check-out times to accommodate the rush.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view. Club 10 level is much pricier but comes with some fun benefits if cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We loved having you stay with us for your 20th anniversary- so pleased to know your experience at Spa San Luis, The Steakhouse and with our staff exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you for your 21st anniversary!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Alstyne, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My family (wife + 3 kids) and I decided to go all out for a brief trip to Galveston and we selected the San Luis for its inviting and kid-friendly pool as well as the proximity to the beach. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and our 14th floor view. The beds were mediocre in comfort and the bathroom was exceptionally small. However, the room itself was more spacious than I expected. Our rate as $268/night and didn't include a refrigerator, but we brought a cooler to store drinks. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, so that was a big plus coming from a luxury resort. The pool with slide were great and my kids loved it. Beware adults: the slide gave us hip bruises since the heavier weight pulls you down faster and against the wall harder. It was fun anyway. Better close-by food options would have helped make it easier for us since we didn't eat at the ultra-expensive on-resort restaurants. The IHOP next door was always crowded and not an option with a 1.5 yr old who wants to eat NOW! It seemed that the music was playing constantly at all hours of the day/night and at a volume that's not really kid-friendly. We could hear it well from our 14th floor balcony. It looked like they were trying to attract a younger, single crowd with the H2O bar at the pool, which was connected to the main pool. The clientele was definitely more families than singles from what we saw. I would recommend this resort for families with older children, couples-only or singles who are ready to shell out big bucks for a hotel. All in all, we had a good time at the San Luis and would give it a good rating.

Room Tip: All rooms from what we could tell are ocean-facing with good views. However, since the pool music v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We're so pleased to hear that you, your wife and your children enjoyed staying with us on our 32-acre resort. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again soon!
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Gorgeous grounds and interior! Everyone we encountered that were employees were very friendly and courteous. My only negative note is that I wish they offered rooms with two queen beds as we traveled with our kids and two double beds are a bit cramped! The pool is awesome.

Room Tip: Stay during the week and spoil yourself with a VIP suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gready H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us for the summer! As you mention, our rooms with two beds are Doubles, not Queens. We are happy to provide an air mattress by requesting one from Housekeeping. Also, the Holiday Inn Resort- On the Beach, located right next door, does have rooms with two Queen beds, rather than Double beds. So glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to have you return soon!
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The facility here is the strong point (wonderful pool with slide for kids and bar for adults). All rooms are large and spacious and well equipped. Great beach access and nearby restaurants. Elevators are frustrating during check in and check out times (not uncommon to wait 3-4 minutes (which seems like an eternity) for a lift). The service is average from the front desk and throughout the facility. Not a vast number of folks that seem to go beyond their core tasks of checking in and responding when asked for a specific request. Hotel would likely be rated as excellent if staff were more thoroughly trained by mgmt to interact more with guests (more conversation more attempts to go above and beyond in terms of serving the guests). In my whole time there I never crossed paths with a member of mgmt. They seemed to be hidden in back rooms rather than getting out and mingling with guests. I'm not saying service was bad but it also wasn't superb across the property. This is a fault of mgmt rather than the staff themselves.

Room Tip: Stay above 9th floor if you want to be able to see pool. The corridors are long so would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC_WAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for not interacting with you, our guests, as we should. I will certainly share your feedback with all of our staff in hopes to increase the visibility of our Management and interactions with our Guests by all team members. If I can be of further assistance, please email ehimes@ldry.com

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.0 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Property: The San Luis Resort
Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing