We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love swim up bars....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I love swim up bars....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I can't tell you much about the rooms because I barely stayed in mine... I was at the pool the entire time. Great staff. Great place for a romantic getaway or family reunion.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wndywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad you enjoyed our pool we hope you'll return for all your romantic getaways and family reunions.
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    309
    187
    120
    121
See reviews for
454
534
40
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Very nice resort, staff was very helpful, friendly, accommodating. Rooms were very clean. The bathrooms are VERY small. Could barely turn around. The first room we were assigned smelled smokey and we were immediately assigned a fresher room. Service at the pool was a little slow but they were very nice. The only drawback was you were given a wristband to wear around the pool and was told upon check-in that it had to be returned or you would be billed $25. Also you had to give cards to receive a towel at the pool. This was a little of a nuisance. Always digging around in my purse for room card, towel card, and wristband. I would probably stay there again but will definitely investigate other hotels first. Not disappointed, but not really impressed either.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding the bathrooms. This fall, we are remodeling our guest bathrooms and I have passed your suggestions along to our design team. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back soon!
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

my husband book this hotel..for a family trip..we have three kids.. The location was great the staff was great... We had wonderful time...i would stay at this hotel again...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloriaahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We're so pleased to hear that you and your children enjoy staying with us. Each day this summer we offer different activities and would love to have you come back.
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We checked in at the last minute because the AC in the condo we rented down the street was out. Everyone at the San Luis was so friendly, our vacation went from miserable to magnificent!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for selecting The San Luis when your A/C went out in your other accommodations. We hope you enjoyed our daily activities and will select our Resort the next time you are near Galveston!
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Steakhouse was fantastic, the food was terrific and the ambiance was superb. Jon Paul was a true ambassador in the dinning room and our server Jennifer was the best. Hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Hoteltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We're so pleased to hear that your dinner at The Steakhouse was outstanding and we look forward to having you back soon!
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms are great and the location is wonderful. You got to check out the pool area. The H2O area is great! Just a stone throw from the water. Several good restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher rooms. It gives a great view of the Gulf of Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WFR6615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay on our 32-acre resort and look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Property: The San Luis Resort
Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing