We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Thank goodness for you guys!! We love that you love our precious dogs!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for you guys!! We love that you love our precious dogs!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

You love our dogs and we love your hotel!!! They are clean and the service is good!! Thanks for being everywhere we want to travel. There was not a restaurant but Denny's was in the parking lot. Parking lot and walk ways needed to be cleaned badly! Close to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodiGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    173
    112
    83
    69
See reviews for
293
151
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

La Quinta Inns have a large range. This one was decent but not great. It's in a pretty good location, right on the Seawall and directly across from steps down to the beach. It's within walking distance of good restaurants and only a few minutes drive to The Strand or cruise terminal.

The rooms were clean enough but certainly not spotless. Beds were alright, and the room came with a large flatscreen, fridge and microwave. The entire hotel smelled vaguely of something but I chalk that up to the location right on the beach and the incessant Galveston humidity. One unpleasant surprise -- during a shower the large ceramic soap dish normally attached to the shower wall fell off! Almost crushed my foot. Reported it to the front desk and housekeeping cleaned up the mess, but no one came to fix it while we were there or offered anything in the way of compensation. The hotel was completely booked so we couldn't move to a different room.

Watch out for the maid service folks in the morning. Both days we were there, the people cleaning the rooms parked their big dirty laundry receptacle in the parking lot and tossed dirty bed sheets and towels into it over the balcony from the above floors. They didn't always make it in the basket so be aware of falling laundry when you go out to your car in the morning.

Our "ocean view" was seen through the window out onto the walkway that people travel to get to their rooms. We would've been able to enjoy it more if a large group of folks 50+ hadn't chosen to park themselves outside our door to smoke & chat most of the night. I don't blame the hotel for that though.

We didn't use the pool but it was popular with families while we were there. It looked pretty well maintained with a large deck area.

Free continental breakfast - standard cold cereals, yogurts, pastries - with a waffle bar. The two mornings we ate there, it seemed like the front desk clerk also had to manage the breakfast stations so when things went empty or needed refreshing, you had to go up and ask. Response was always pleasant and decently quick, but it's a shame they can't staff a separate attendant to keep an eye on things. The seating area is larger than it looks -- there are more tables and chairs down a little hallway at the back where we easily found a quiet place to sit and eat.

Parking lot requires some attention. Seemed like plenty of spaces if you didn't mind having to park a ways from your room, but the individual spots were small and the lot itself was in pretty rough shape. If you don't drive an SUV, drive slowly going in and out to avoid bottoming out your car - none of the driveways are the same level as the street.

I would stay here again - for the amount we paid per night it was a decent value (Sept 2012). This place has the potential to be pretty great if they spruced it up a bit and paid a bit more attention to maintenance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxymustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went to galveston for a family surprise party & had ZERO problems with this La Quinta. I highly recommend it:-)
Friendly service, clean room & beautiful view! Wish we could've stayed longer but husband couldn't get anymore days off from work....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

this hotel is the best on the island in my opion. we walk out the door and across the street is the ocean and dining is close enough to walk to. they will tell you of special places to go to and any specials going on. the pleasure pier is about 2 blocks away and its close to things but nice and quiet also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had the best stay at La Quinta in Galveston. Best hotel for the price with a great view of the ocean. I would recommend highly to anyone. Loved it. Great staff. Perfect place for a Harley Davidson.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I choose this hotel because its great location, close to the beach, boardwalk, and restaurants. Unfortunaly the service is very disappointing!! They check us in to a room that wasn't made and was dirty. We went back to the desk and had to wait 40 minutes before we could get another room! ( need to mention that we showed up at 5pm, and check in is 3pm) there was no manager on property any of the three days we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCBlueMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
5.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Property: La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach
Address: 1402 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
Galveston La Quinta
La Quinta Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing