We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LumpyBeds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Beaumont, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“LumpyBeds”
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Stayed for a conference. In a room with 2 queen beds. On bed was very l lumpy. I have never had lumpy bed before. For a resort, no hot tub, asked attendant, said it was by pool, but did not exist. HA Very disappointing.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank txcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2017
I am sorry for the miscommunication and the poor stay. We have made changes to the property and staff and wanted to let our past guests know of what we have done to better enhance the property for all our guests. Thank you again for you comments and time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    317
    169
    87
    76
See reviews for
419
296
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

As I just read in another review that I think stated it well...there was zero effort here amongst staff to react to complaints. Some of the things that I encountered on our stay...

1) The first day here, I called the front desk to ask for housekeeping to come to our room while we were both out for the day. 6 hours later I returned to the room, and no housekeeping had ever showed. I called the front desk, asked for someone to come up. An hour later and ANOTHER call to the front desk finally brought housekeeping to the room.3 calls and 7 hours seems ridicoulus.

2) My room key was de-magnitized the first day, when I took the key to the front desk no id was taken from me (scary thought). Then my husbands key didnt work when he got home- next day...SAME THING. This happened a total of 4 times during our stay of three days. It turns out that every time they were giving us a "new" key- not a copy of the old one. So at any given time only one of our keys ever worked.

3) The soda machine on our floor didnt work, I went to another floor, it took my money and didnt give me soda. Went to another machine and the soda came out hot! Took me 4 floors before I could find a working machine. During this time I saw an employee who said they'd known about the machine problems, and that "someone ought to put a sign up".

4) I called the hotel restaraunt to order lunch that I was going to pick up, and take out. They charged me a 17% gratutity charge becuase..."you called from your room."

5) The comforter on our bed had a brown stain on it from whoever was in our room before, it clearly hadnt been washed. I called and asked for a new one.

Overall- there is not enough staff to take care of patrons. Case and point, I spent a half hour on Thursday trying to call the front desk or guest relations.....all calls went to answering service! And we came in the off season, good luck in the height of summer. Also worth mentioning, very small pool, 1/3 of it is taken up with a baby waiting pool that is a foot deep. It's also not heated, so very very cold if you plan to swim when it's not the height of summer yet.

One bright spot- we asked for a late checkout, and they were helpful in giving us that. But in truth, this branch really lets the Holiday Inn brand down. I would pay more to stay at a nearby hotel instead of this one next time.

  • Liked — near the beach
  • Disliked — the lack of cleanliness and receptive staff.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ShannonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2017
I don't know where to begin as everything stated was true back then. We have gone through a property renovation and management change. With these enhancements, I can guarantee that these issues should not occur again due to training, communication, and execution of service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2007

Holiday Inn Galveston on the Beach proved to be a very good deal for those of us waiting to depart on a cruise from Galveston. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and knowledgeable, and all the rooms have a good view of the ocean.
The best part of the services offered was the free shuttle service to local restaurants and to and from the cruise port. The free parking during our cruise was a great money saver. The drivers were friendly and drove carefully.
I personally would stay at this establishment if I was in the Galveston area.

  • Liked — Free Shuttle Service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GibbyMiddleIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2017
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing at our hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to you returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

I was concerned about this hotell after reading other reviews, but I decided to go with it after hearing about all the new renovations. I was a little disappointed with the place considering the amount of money the rooms cost. For starters, the rooms (particularly the bedspreads) and the hallways smell strongly of body odor and mold. In addition, the rooms are not that great. There towel hooks missing from the bathrooms and some of the fixtures were rusty. The place had a general air of neglect. The bathroom sink stopper tended to get stuck, and our room door tended not to latch properly. We found our room door open on more than once occasion, and at first we thought someone had been inside. Upon investigation, we saw that the lock did not always work properly. On a positive note, the location was nice and the view from the balcony was great. The breakfast buffet was very good, and the pool was nice. (It would have been better if they had a hot tub or sauna). The staff were all nice, and the stay was tolerable.

  • Liked — The location across from the beach.
  • Disliked — The general air of neglect in the room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Hit the beach early and make use of the balcony.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mistbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2017
We wanted to reach out to our past guests that had just ok stays and let them know we have completed changes at the hotel both property and management. Thank you for letting us know how we are doing and we encourage you to return to see the changes first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2006

JULY 19 & 20th 2006 MUST READ LONG BUT INFORMATIVE, FROM AN AVG OKLAHOMA MOM OF 3

We booked an executive suite double "Queen" beds with fridge/microwave and balcony w/ ocean view.

(Galveston= good stuff to do but water smelly & too much seaweed at every wave, it scared the pee-waddle out of 3 yr old who was convinced it was out to get him and wouldn't step foot in. Is usually last one out of pool!!)

I loved the pix on their website, great photographer on 1st day open I guess. Lobby smelled like Cig Smoke and was dingy, YUCK!! Parking non-existant Fri night due to club at hotel. Don't feel good about NEW suburban a block away! Enter room from open air hallway (IE - HOT, MUGGY) Elevators are too, no fresh air!! I had previously booked Casa Del Mar down the street and wasn't sure about comfort and stuff since I'd never heard of them but they look more attractive on the outside to me in person, didn't get to go see a room maybe I'll follow up on that. Well our beds at Holiday Inn On the Beach are sorry (hard & can feel springs) but pillows fluffy. Beds also more like "Full" and yes there is a difference. 2nd night got a roll-a-way for the toddler since he had to sleep between mom and dad. He didn't sleep well and neither did we. Anyway room is tiny tiny for an "Executive". We got the WALMART EMPLOYEE discount Thrs nt $169, Fri nt $206 and not worth it. I would have paid $79 and not complained. Balcony @ 2ft deep 6ft wide 2 plastic dollar store chairs, but good to dry swim suits on. THE BEST THING ABOUT ROOM IS THE FREE WI-FI I'M USING TO WRITE THIS SORRY REVIEW, HA! HA!.

- Beth M. Oklahoma City

  • Liked — FREE WI FI TO COMPLAIN BY AND BOOK DIFF HOTEL WITH
  • Disliked — QUALITY/SIZE OF ROOM FOR MONEY, BEACH OR NO BEACH
  • Tips/Secrets — BOOK ONLY IF YOU DON'T HAVE A CHOICE ELSEWHERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank MOMof3OKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2017
I am sorry to hear you had a poor experience and it did not go according to plan. We wanted to reach out to past guests and encourage all guests to return to see the changes we have done to enhance the property and service. Thank you for letting us know how we are doing and we look forward to you returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

We prepaid a week for a lower price - big mistake.

The entire staff at Holiday Inn by the Beach seemed overwhelmed and undermanned, and there seemed to be zero urgency to correct problems.

The phone was inoperative.

The internet was inoperative.

The restaurant was understaffed and featured really long waits.

Repeated attempts to rectify the above were only met with stares of silence and "Uh, I'm sorry...." We did in fact get someone to some to the room to address the phone, however he left with the phone, leaving our door open for the day. Fortunately nothing was taken.

In addition to the service woes, the pool is very small, but there's really not much that can be done about that, so thre it is.

Two days into our stay, we gave up and transferred to one of Tillman F's other hotels on the seawall - the Hilton. At least there everything worked.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WimberleyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2017
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. I do realize it has been some time since your visit and encourage all our guests on returning to see the changes first hand. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 6, 2006

I stayed 3 days the weekend before July 4, 2006 with a friend and 1 child each. On the positive side, they have a nice lobby and a business center with internet access as well as free internet access in the room. The sad part is that the room was so uninviting, we didn't want to stay in it long enough to surf the internet or even watch tv.

Again on the positive side the room was clean, but the furniture was old, there was a musty smell and the wall paper needed replacing. The room was average sized with a marble vanity/dry bar, table and 2 chairs and balcony with 2 chairs. If only it weren't so old and decrepit looking. Oh yeah, then there was the water being turned off for a few hours. But I guess that could happen anywhere. Oh, the pool was nice for children, but not too many as it was small, but easy for adults to sit and have a good view and a drink, if the service was good, which it wasn't.

Positively speaking, as I like to do, the motel was in a good location with the beach across the street and the choice of restaurants, Rainforest Cafe, Landry's, IHOP within walking distance, but I expected more from a Holiday Inn as well as from the Fertita's who own the whole resort complex with San Luis and Landry's right next door.

Would I stay there again, positively not, unless they did a major, major renovation.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2017
We have listened and we have completed a major renovation for the rooms and enhanced service. We wanted to reach out to past guests and thank them for their business and encourage them to return to see the changes first hand. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing