We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Spent 2 nights with a special needs child at this hotel. I was able to order room service for breakfast by the pool while my grandchild swam. Staff helped w/ luggage and numerous other things. A shout out to Benjamin who was extremely helpful. Hotel could use a little updating, however it was clean, beds comfy and the room had a refrigerator and a microwave. Wifi was iffy on the 6th floor but worked well by the pool. Sign said pool opens at 7 but they were still cleaning it so should change the hours posted. Very difficult to explain to a child that the pool was closed.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4pmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    319
    169
    87
    76
See reviews for
422
297
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This place is really fabulous. Beautiful (inside and out), clean and the staff is amazing. They are friendly, helpful and always have a smile. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The view, with the beach directly across the street, was gorgeous. AND every room has a direct view. Great, great, great place to stay. The bed and pillows are absolutely heaven to sleep on.
The only downside is that their wi fi does NOT work but we weren't there to stay on a computer.

They have a restaurant called the Jetty in the Holiday Inn that was a bit pricey so we did not eat there. There is also a lounge called B Jiggers that we did not go in but did get a drink from. It was pricey and watered down.

Room Tip: We decided next time we went that we wanted a room over the pool area. Noise is not a factor when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saintedcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We appreciate you reviewing your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed Galveston and we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

A very nice room overlooking the beach across the street which is the norm for most of Galveston. Clean room with a standard narrow balcony. The beds were very nice with clean bedding. Everything worked in the room. The Wifi signal was on the weak side. My iPad tended to drop it quite regularly when I was trying to use it in the room. If a hotel is going to advertise Wifi as an amenity to sway my business, then the Wifi needs to be of good quality. The room staff does a very good job on making sure the rooms are clean and inviting. The bathroom needs some work from the long term maintenance crew. It is showing it's age as is much of the hotel. I'm sure it's tough with sand and water being dragged into the hotel on a continuous basis not to mention the salt air on everything. Some of the common areas have definitely seen their use over the years.

The pool got lots of use by hotel customers even though the water was not crystal clear. It had this cloudy appearance to it. Might be a short term issue that the hotel staff is attacking right now.

Cannot speak highly enough about the staff overall. We met numerous folks about the hotel and every one of them was friendly and had a smile. Thank you for that Holiday Inn Resort!

Would I stay at this hotel again while in Galveston. Sure I would. The minor issues do not outweigh the good qualities of the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roborant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing our resort while in Galveston and we hope you will return and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Pros: Nice room, comfy beds, mini frig, safe, good sized balcony with two chairs, pool, great breakfast in restaurant, B Jiggers nightclub in lobby, walk to Landry's or Rainforest Cafe 1 block away. Tshirt shop right next door. Good sized parking lot. Walk across Seawall Blvd. to beach.
Cons: Bathroom is tiny and not well ventilated. There is an additional vanity/mirror area outside of bathroom which helped a great deal. Price is high but all the nice hotels on the Seawall are.

Room Tip: Upper Floors have better views. Our view on 4th Floor was of the roof of the adjoining building whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We love hearing you enjoyed our room amenities and our beachside location in Galveston. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampasas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Was pretty worried at first hearing some mixed reviews on here. The hotels here in Galveston fill up quickly so book early. The Holiday Inn Resort was a really nice place to hang in Galveston for a few days. The bed was comfortable,AC was great,room and bath all clean and everything worked. Even the door to the small patio locked and closed unlike other beach view hotels we have been to before. The price is a little higher than what it should be compared to other beach towns. We were in room #822 and it was just what we needed for a pleasant rest. Staff we encountered were all kind and no hitches. Plenty of parking behind the building and a nice size pool. If we do decide to got to Galveston again this place would be in the running for a follow up visit for sure. Over all we were happy with this place and would recommend it to other friends and family members.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer the best views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamboozler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We're glad you enjoyed your time in Galveston and certainly hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Converse, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughters to enjoy the ocean, just having moved from Alaska. The room was nice, clean, we were treated well upon check-in, and it was quiet. However, the next morning, we were checking out, and a Sysco 18-wheeler smashed the trunk of my malibu! It was witnessed by the maintenance man who commented to me that he was lucky it didn't get his car parked next to mine! Police came out, report filed, Sysco said his trucker was too busy to come back to the hotel. Anyway, during the claim process, the manager, Mr. House wouldn't return my insurance company's phone calls, so I ended up paying $500 deductible for the claim, Sysco got off scot-free, and Mr. House, you are a small coward!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoodlebugFlyAwayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We value each of our reviews on TripAdvisor, however, we do not have an employee named Mr. House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The rooms were clean and the beds were soft. Had a wonderful view of the ocean and enjoyed the pool. Front desk personal was friendly. It was close to a lot of attractions so you didn't have to drive to far to get to them. It was in walking distance of entertainment and food places. Really enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We appreciate you reviewing your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed Galveston and we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing