We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Don't know if this happens to everyone, but we were met by a staff member who went to the room with us and made sure everything was OK before we actually 'took possession'. Showed us all the amenities and how things worked. Very nice comfortable room. Beautiful view of the Gulf (fourth floor). Staff & workers all exceptionally friendly and helpful. Thank you!

Room Tip: If you want to see the Gulf, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Packratdc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is our team's goal to provide exceptional service. When delivering luggage to a guest's room, our bellman does review the amenities of the hotel. I am glad to hear that our staff did so. we are again glad that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your business. We hope to see you again at our hotel in Galveston very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    324
    171
    90
    76
See reviews for
433
302
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My daughter and 5 yr old granddaughter stayed over the Labor Day weekend. This is a very family friendly hotel. Service was great. The only issue we had was a couple fighting loudly next door our first night. Started with repeated loud banging on the door. Finally called the front desk and two security guards were there within literally two minutes. This hotel had a really good breakfast buffet with plenty of hot food and a good selection. Our room was clean and comfy with plenty of towels and toiletries. They had room service but we took advantage of the many great restaurants near by. The beach is just across the street but we had trouble getting our 5 yr old out of the hotel pool. They have a great pool, which included a large two foot kiddy pool. Plenty of float toys for the kids to play with. They showed children's movies at the pool every night and had free treats for the kids. Back to the great service. Not a single staff member passed us without greeting us. Every time we passed someone vacuuming (they vacuum a lot, sand I guess) they would stop vacuuming, turn and smile and say hello. Everyone was so nice. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justjudyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to provide a clean and well maintained hotel combined with friendly and courteous service. As a resort, we also work to provide numerous amenities and activities including our pool activities. I am sorry that the guest next to your room was loud but I am glad to hear that our security team quickly reasponded. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again very soon in Galveston.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockett, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is located across the street from the beach. (Be sure to use the cross walk at the light. Don't take any chances crossing the road). The staff was friendly and the room was clean. We enjoyed the balcony overlooking the pool and beach. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. It is our team's goal to provide a quality clean product and exceptional guest service. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also recommend that guests use the crosswalk at the light located one block from the hotel, as well. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I enjoy my stay every time. I started staying here around the time of rita wanting togo somewhere I did not no anyone the staff is the most polite I have been around. Every time I come to Galveston istay at this hotel. The private balconies have great views. The club and restaurant are nice. Of course, no place is perfect, but I enjoy location and hospitality I get on every visit by the way, iwill be there again on Wednesday the 28th

Room Tip: IF you like peace and gulf scenery, 5th floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments. We are so glad that you have made our hotel your home away from home since Rita. Our staff's goal is to consisitently provide a quality product and friendly and courteous service. When you visit the hotel on the 28th, please ask for me so I can thank you for your continued patronage of our hotel. Thank you for your business!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is nice place. Friendly Staff. Little noisy, but okay after we are in our rooms. No thermocol ice-coolers allowed in the room. Access to Ice machine and vending machines are not convenient. Very nice and friendly staff. Superb services by Pool Attendants.

Room Tip: Don't take thermocol ice-coolers. They will not let you take in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to provide both a quality product and exceptional service. Our resort has many amenities to offer including our pool with Family Dive-in Movies and pool service from our Bar. Coolers are not allowed by the pool due to TBAC laws but they are allowed in your guestroom. We thank you for your continued patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts and we hope that you can make a return visit to Galveston soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed with my family over the weekend at this hotel. For some reason our room seemed to be the worse. We came across 2 spiders and what looked like a couple of silverfish over the course of 2 days. By day 3 we were ready to try a new location. The ice machine on our floor was never found as well as the soda machine was broken and we had to go all the way to the bottom floor just to get ice and drinks the first night we were there. The token machince for the game room was broken so didn't even bother to try and go in to take the kids for games that day. And we were limited on towels. Had to go downstairs just to get enough towels to bathe and dry off with. The restaraunt there was a bit unclean as well as my child went to eat breakfast with the family and found hair in his bacon. Not very appetizing to say the least. I don't want to ring this hotel out so bad but I have to tell the truth, the pictures on the website were just a bit misleading and when you look at the website you see it in a totally different light. I will say that the staff though were friendly. When I went down for items the gentlemen didn't mind helping out at all. Just felt it was a bit misleading and we had the worst of the worst of rooms the 2 days we were there. We should have never had to cancel our stay there and make it so short but the insects especially with 2 small children freaked me out a bit.

Room Tip: check it out thouroughly before agreeing to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Ecolab provides our pest control monthly service and we do not have a history of bugs or insects in our guestrooms due to the services provided by Ecolab. It is possible that a bug may have entered the room from outside while the guestroom or balcony door was open. We have had some recent response time service issues with our drink machine vendor, our game room vendor and our ATM vendor so we are addressing those issues with those companies in writing to resolve these issues or we will make a change in these vendors. I do apologize for your inconveniences. Please contact me directly next time you are planning a stay in galveston and we will make sure that you have a perfect stay with us.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have used this Hotel for the last 5 yrs and have not had a bad experience. I took my mother there for her 82nd birthday and she enjoyed the balcony. We were on the 4th floor, usually we get a floor or two above so she can see more. We will be back for her 83rd next Aug. Bathroom could use a little redo, but the beds were soooo comfortable. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views and less a/c noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadowrose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that your grandmother and your family visits us every year for her birthday. Please call the hotel directly when booking your reservation and let us know that it is your grandmother's birthday so we can make her birthday a very special day. As a note, we renovated all of our guestrooms and public areas from 2009-2011 and we will be fully renovating the guest bathrooms this fall and adding closet doors to all closets in addition to some public space and hotel exterior renovations. The renovations will all be completed in early 2014. Thank you for your patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.3 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing