We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and close to the beach, would stay here again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and close to the beach, would stay here again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Nice room with comfy bed. Walking distance from beach and several restaurants. Very nice pool area!!! Only bad things are the road you have to cross to get to the beach and none of the vending machines work (although the staff was quick to refund).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was comfortable and that we provided you with friendly service. Unfortunately none of the hotels are actually on the beach and are across the street from the beach. We do have a crosswalk at 53rd Street and Seawall Blvd only about a city block from the hotel. I am also sorry that are vending machines were out of order due to the drinks all being sold. They have been re-filled. Thank you for your continued patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts and we hope that you can return to our location very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    292
    151
    78
    70
See reviews for
387
268
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We typically stay at San Luis resort but it was $500+ a night so we opted for the Holiday Inn right next store and it was 1/2 the price for the same view. The staff were wonderful especially Jennifer, Jasmine, and Ed. Very nice and exceptionally helpful. They also provided us free parking and shuttle service while we were on our cruise for the week. It was a great experience and a significant savings to boot.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HWHDKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank yuo for your review and your positive feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay prior to your cruise. It is also great to hear that three of our team members as well as all of our staff provided you with exceptional service. Thank you for your business and we hope that you can visit us again very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights over the Memorial Day weekend with my son, his wife & their two little ones. This was thier first visit to Galveston. We decided to visit GI only the day before we left, so it was amazing that we were able to get a room anywhere. We have stayed at both the Hilton & The San Luis, but there were no rooms, so we grabbed the adjoining rooms at the Holiday Inn Resort. The rooms were perfect, on the 4th floor last two rooms, adjoining. We asked for this & we got exactly what we wanted. Perfect! The beds were comfy, the AC just right, our King room was spacious for the two of us, the two Queens in the kiddos room was a bit crowded with the portacrib & all the toys...but they worked with it.

We had balconies that looked out to the Gulf across the street. great view! One complaint.... each balcony has a light that can not be turned off..... it was too bright to sit out at night... if it could turn off somehow, that'd be better. Our room was on the 4th floor, at the far end, overlooking the parking lot... but that was great, because there was a band (inside the bar) both nights & it was a bit loud. We only heard it when the bar door was opened. Totally didn't bother us at all.

The pool was large & fantastic. There is a super shallow end that the little one's played in all day. We went to GI so our 4 year old could "go to the beach"... she went once & after that preferred the Holiday Inn Resort's pool.

The staff was over & above anything I expected to find at a Holiday Inn. As I had said we have stayed at both the other Landry's properties (Hilton & San Luis) & thier service was outstanding. So, it's really not surprising to find the same friendliness & helpfulness here as well, since all three properties are owned by the same person. All three resorts had activities planned for all three days of the Memorial Day holiday & what fun it was! We thought we'd spend more time seeing Galveston, but there was so much going on at the resorts, we stayed at the hotel mostly. The hoola hoop contests, the snow cones, the S'mores, popcicles, the Dive-in Movies, the music at the Resort (Rainforest Cafe - Landry's Seafood) was a blast.

We ate breakfast at the Jetty Resaturant, had drinks delivered to the pool, and had late night room service one night. All very good. No complaints at all.

We ate at the Rainforest Cafe the day we headed for home.... it was good & our Landry's card let us "jump the line" which is a GREAT perk, especially when you have two little ones. But the "animals' in the restaurant scared our 4 year old & she didn't really enjoy it as much as we thought she would.

This is a fantastic hotel with great staff. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRVFAN4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your survey and stay with us. It is amasing to hear that you had such a perfect stay at our Holiday Inn Resort On The Beach property and at the San Luis Resort Complex which is owned and managed by Landry's, Inc. Our goal is to provide a high quality product combined with numerous resort amenties and activities as well as five diamond guest service. It sounds like we delivered on that for you and your family. Our team enjoys providing all of the activities at our hotel and the entire resort for families. I am sorry that the Rainforest animals scared the little ones. We thank you for your stay at our resort and for being a Landry's Select Club Member, as well. We hope that you can visit us again very soon!!!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here, the rooms were very nice and comfortable also the staff was very friendly...I would definitely refer this hotel, look forward to staying again very soon, the room was right across from the beach therefore it was soooooo peaceful to have the ocean view very relaxing to wake to the sound of waves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyGirl235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and your wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. The hotel's location across from the beach provides amasing views of the ocean especially at sunrise and sunset. We are so glad that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the ocean from your hotel room balcony. Thank you once again for your business and we cant wait to see you again in Galveston very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Skylar (Nice Girl) at the front desk made our trip and fishing tourney a complete success
All Good Good Breakfast

Spent a large amount of time in the Bar and Pool Area It was All Good

nice view from the Rest Area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your fishing trip and had a successful fishing tournament. I am also glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff exceeded your expectations. thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon in Galveston!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Even on Memorial Day weekend with the whole dang town elbow to behinds, this was a quiet, restful place to stay. Right across the stree from the beach with good views and close to Gaido's for excellent seafood, it cannot be beat.
The hotel staff, bellman Ed, and the waitress in the bar and the restaurant staff and maid service were all excellent. The pool area was clean and the water cool and refreshing and the live music was soft on the ear.
The experience was so nice we will be back again and again.
Thanks Holiday Inn Resort Galveston for a great birthday for my husband who turned 92 while we were there!

Room Tip: Higher up and overlooking the beach, unless you have small children,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your husband celebrated his birthdays with us. Thank you for the comments about our hotel staff and our hotel product and cleanliness. It is our goal to provide a memorable stay for every guest and it seems that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for your business and we cant wait to see you back in Galveston soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The staff was friendly, the hotel was in the perfect location for our trip. My girlfriend and I asked for a higher floor and ended up on the 8th floor. The room was clean and spacious I suggest the king executive view for the best room for the money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrossley77054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your survey and wonderful comments about our property, its cleanliness and location. Our friendly staff's goal is to provide memorable service to every guest. Thank you for your patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts and we hope that you can return to our location again very soon!!!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing