We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good clean”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed one night and was very pleased. Typical Holiday Inn, but enjoyed having full Restaurant on site, don't see this very often except in higher end hotels. The room was big and comfortable.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are a Holiday Inn Resort which is a full-service property that includes a restaurant and lounge. We also provide numerous amenities and activities on our resort. Thank you for your stay with us and we hope you can visit us again.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    329
    174
    90
    77
See reviews for
450
308
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bells, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Loved the room and the service. The hotel was clean and the pool sparkled. We had a great view of the Gulf. I would recommend this hotel to my family and will stay there again when we go back. Had a great time!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. It is our team's goal to provide a quality product and service. We thank you for your business and we hope that you can visit us again very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I took my two kids, one five and one thirteen, to Galveston for Spring Break 2013. The hotel was perfect for us. It's right across the street from the beach, has a very nice and well kept pool and a super friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Our room was only on the second floor, so we couldn't view the beach that well, but the view of the pool was still nice. All rooms have a view toward the beach, but be sure you ask for a higher floor to be sure you get a view. We recommend this hotel for families and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noira2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our team's goal to provide both a quality product and service for each guest. We hope that you will come for a return visit soon. Please contact me in advance when making your next reservation and I will make sure that you get a room on a higher floor. Thank you again for your continued patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a recent meeting. I've never experienced a friendlier or more polite staff. It's too bad the weather didn't cooperate with our stay - but a clean hotel in a pretty place in Texas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morris7180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed both your meeting and your stay with us. I am sorry that the weather didn't cooperate. We hope that you can make a return visit to our hotel when the weather is better. Thank you for your continued patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located on the Seawall facing the beach so great location. The rooms are clean with modern decor but you can tell the bones of the hotel are old. Staff was nice and each room appears to have a view of the gulf.

The downside of this hotel was the noise level. There is a restaurant/bar downstairs and live music on Friday and Saturday nights. We heard the band until 1:30a. Called the front desk around 12:30a to complain but the music continued on.

This may not be a bad stay during the week, or if you don't plan on being in the room until the early morning on weekends. I also think the $206 per night was over-priced.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utmb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I thank you for your survey and your comments about our hotel and staff. I am sorry that the band in the bar was loud anf kept you up but I am glad that you had some very positive comments about our property. It is our team's goal to provide a resort atmosphere and quality service to every guest. Please contact me if you make a return trip to Galveston and I will ensure that we place you in a guestroom away from the pool and bar where activities do go on into late in the evening.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is much nicer than the Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort. This hotel is clean and comfortable. It has well appointed rooms and ample parking. It is located across from the Gulf of Mexico and the beach.

I recommend asking for a high floor. The rooms on the lower level floors appear to have the view of the Gulf blocked by the rooftop of the lobby of the hotel.

This hotel will cost you more money than the Sunspree, but if you don't mind an older feel to a hotel room, the Sunspree is very clean and comfortable.

The front desk staff at this hotel was very polite and welcoming.

At the time of my booking, this hotel required 20,000 Priority Club Points for a one night stay on a Sunday night (April 7).

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and your commendation of our hotel and staff. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know if you would like to book a return stay at our property. We thank you for your continued patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for New Year's Eve in 2011 and went to see Radio London and had a very nice dinner there. Was a wonderful night.
Went back and saw another band that was good in September 2012. The hotel is nice and the staff is good too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your survey and your commendation of our hotel and staff. We are glad that you enjoy the bands in our BJiggers Ultra Lounge and that you enjoyed your stay. It is our goal to provide a memorable resort experience at our property. We hope that you can return to our resort sometime in the near future. Thank you for your patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.3 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing