We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spring Break Getaway! Huge Thanks to the friendly hotel staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Spring Break Getaway! Huge Thanks to the friendly hotel staff!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

An overall great stay at the Holiday Inn Galveston on the beach. Perfect location that is right on the beach and IMO the best section of the strip. Close enough to all the best spots and the Pier and far enough from it all when you just want to relax. Loved my room & gorgeous view on the 6th floor. The bed, white linens & comforter were comfy (just like home) and the entire room was clean especially the bath. Very well kept property! A huge thanks to Mike at the front desk who was so helpful and was able to get me checked in a little early, and out a little later which I very much appreciate. The entire staff was so welcoming and hospitable. Even the staff at the pool was so attentive from the towel service, to lifting my table umbrella, and the bartender who ensured I wasn't too thirsty. Service was so great I can't wait to return for Memorial Day weekend! A++

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasNoels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to provide outstanding service to each of our guests. I will let our team know that you enjoyed your stay. Please keep us in mind, next time you plan a trip back to Galveston.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    329
    174
    90
    77
See reviews for
450
308
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Inn is an older building that has had some minor updates. It boasts it is on the beach and like most hotels in Galveston it is across Seawall Blvd from the beach. Crossing this street is uber dangerous and there are no pedestrian crosswalks immediately apparent.
The hotel has one small elevator on each end and I am sure we were there at the busiest time, Spring Break. However, the line for the elevator could grow 20 people deep and often take 15-20 mins if you had to wait on it with luggage.
The island has a lot to do nearby and this hotel is walking distance to the Rainforest Cafe a kids favorite. The price might have been high for Spring Break but seemed high for the property. The fixtures are old and the only real updates are to the furniture. There is a restaurant attached but minimum quality diner style food and they cannot accommodate for allergies or gluten intolerances.The staff was okay but definitely over worked. Total 3 experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyAbundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you did not feel that you had a perfect stay with us. Our hotel is conveniently located on the seawall near restaurants and attractions and we are located across from the beach as most of the hotels are in Galveston. There are pedestrian crossovers at each trafic light intersection. Although the buidling was constructed in 1984, our ownership continues to upgrade the hotel's product. The hotel completed a complete renovation in 2011 as well as the Holiday Inn Brand Re-fresh in 2010. The guestrooms have been renovated to Holiday Inn's newest urban room decor and all of the public areas received renovations, as well. The hotel will be completing a second round of renovations in 2013-14, as well. It is also our goal to provide the highest quality of service to our guests. We appreciate your comments and we will share them with our team to continue to improve our service to our guests.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

First of all we had no idea that we had reserved this hotel. It would have never happened. We thought that we had booked The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach. After arriving in Galveston and seeing where we were booked we were shocked and call the number we had used again only to be told it was a number for all the Holiday Inn's in Galveston. We then ask if there were any rooms in the hotel we thought we had booked and told it was already full for the three days we were to be there. Being Spring Break we attempted to check in and were told the rooms were not ready. Although we were not given a room much less a key the girl took our information and charged us the full amount. We had no idea until dinner that night that nearly 800. had been charged. When I questioned the same staff member later that night, she acted like she had no idea that was done, never looked up, just handed me a key. We were placed on the fourth floor and had to access our room from the back of the hotel. The elevator closest to our room was not working which meant that everyone in the hotel, including housekeeping, was using the same elevator, making the wait coming or going nearly 10 minutes. Waiting with two small children and our luggage or bags for the day was a beating, not to mention that the elevator that was working closed very fast and did not appear to have a safety open. The room was totally out of date and there was nothing but lukewarm water at any time we were there. The beds were ok, but the noise from the outside was on going. The housekeeping staff was knocking early every morning ( before 8) wanting to know if we wanted the room cleaned.....not sure who would like that.
Without a doubt we would never have chosen this hotel; on which we paid a royal price for Motel 6 accommodations and unfriendly service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NaniC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. It is our team's goal to provide quality service to our guests. Your stay was during spring break and we were sold out but it is no excuse for not providing consistent and friendly service to every guest. I will share your comments with our team to assist us in improving our service. I did want to communicate to you that our hotel completed a full renovation in 2011 that includes Holiday Inn's latest urban room decor and all of the public areas were renovated as well. The hotel also completed the Holiday Inn Brand Refresh in 2009. We are planning a second round of renovations for 2013-14 as our ownership is dedicated in providing both a high quality product and service. I hope that you will give us a second chance and stay with us sometime in the future.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great staff, upon arrival I was asked what brought me to Galveston and I told them it was my anniversary. After check-in we left for a few hours and returned to champagne and cheesecake! Rooms were clean with a great view of the pool and the gulf. The only drawback was there was only 1 operating elevator.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. Our team takes pride in providing quality service and going out of our way to take care of our guests. I am glad that you had a happy anniversary and I hope that you will stay with us again very soon.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEACHCOMBER40
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is clean, check in - check out was easy. Good Location. Lots of families We were on the 8th floor so the bar was not an issue.Good parking. The bed was a little hard for me but was fine for my husband. Pretty average place nothing to complain about. The resturant was overpriced and the food was not all that great convienient and in the lobby, but there are pleanty of places to walk to. Did not use room service. We would stay there again if the price was rite.

Room Tip: If you are worried about the reviews on the bar noise maybe you should ask for higher floor away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEACHCOMBER40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you had a good stay. We will use your feedback to improve on our service especially in the food and beverage area. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a great place to stay. It was reasonably priced, clean, great view of the gulf, and very kid friendly. My mom, my son, and I stayed for 2 nights on spring break. The room was nice and clean and the balcony was cool with a great view of the water and seawall. They had great kids activities including cookie decorating, s'mores at night and a movie. The first night the movie was by the pool and too cold but the second night they moved it inside to one of the banquet rooms. The kids activities director was awesome, she knew my son by name and was always happy to see him. The Cobb salad in the Jetty restaurant was excellent, very fresh! Overall we had a wonderful stay and the employees were very friendly and helpful. They even gave my son an Angry Birds toy that he loved!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed our hotel and that our staff were courteous and friendly. We enjoy providing a family friendly environment. It is fun for our team to provide Dive-in Movies at the pool, cookie decorating, s'mores and other activities. I hope your family can stay at our hotel again soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was nice and clean. There were exterior entrances and the room had 2 doors, one from the front and the other door led to the pool. The door to the pool was slightly confusing but you are able to walk to the pool and lobby through door. We went for Mardi Gras and the hotel has restaurant/lounge with live band. Micro and fridge in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawheat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during Mardi Gras. I hope that you can visit us again sometime during the spring or summer when we have numerous activities at the resort!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.3 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing