We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pictures are deceiving!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pictures are deceiving!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not a resort!!!!!! So disappointed!!! The room was filthy old and ugly!!!!! Free shuttle and parking was nice!! Room service did not have all items listed! Will never ever stay here again!!!!!! If you like a nasty room for 150$ u might like this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sandefur,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Kindly be assured that your review is being looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    273
    141
    74
    67
See reviews for
367
245
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a nice hotel with kids activities, friendly staff and great rooms with a great view. There is a restaurant and a bar next to the pool, which is very convenient.
The location of the hotel is excellent. This is a good place to stay if traveling with the whole family. Nice place for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Arrived on Friday afternoon and greeted by an incredibly friendly staff. As a Priority Club member we were given a room on the 8th floor and a complimentary suite. Mardi Gras weekend was so much more fun. Not only were all staff friendly and helpful but the rooms were in excellent condition and maintained well. Can't wait to make reservations for next year.

Room Tip: Request a room at the highest level possible to take in the view. All rooms have Balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoppy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I just spent 2 nights during mardi gras at this hotel. It was wonderful. The front counter staff was effecient and polite at all times. Our room was unbeleivable....clean, beautiful , quiet and with a too die for view of the Gulf of Mexico on our 7th floor balcony. We really enjoyed our time and will most definately stay again. We travel to Galveston mulitple times a year and this is our new fave hotel.

Room Tip: Top floors are going to quieter...the lower few floors will probably have lots of noise from bar/poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjsmoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husbend and I stayed here for two days during marti gras. The room was quiet and comfortable. The bed was nice! I was doing my homework at night time but didn't complete it because I dosed off Lol :) The best part of our stay was waking up to the beautiful sunrise and the seagulls in the morning. Also, a nice young man who made our hot this morning in the restaurant (didn't get his name sorry) was very nice and warming to us in the morning! Please give our thanks to him (: If we are ever back in the galveston area, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahalaniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night after our cruise to enjoy Galveston. We usually visit Galveston 3 or 4 times a year. This Holiday is a joke calling itself a resort. After three hours of loud noises from the guests next door a finally got through to the front desk at 3am. They said they would send security. At 7 am after no sleep and the party still going full blast between the screaming and the cussing we had enough. Went to the front desk and complained. They advised we should have called more. I asked for the charge for my room to be reversed. They gave us 40 credit. Big deal and we checked out to drive home at 730am after no sleep all night. Never again. Avoid this place and the trash that stays there. visit the halves or the San Luis or maybe even budget suites, it would have to be better than this place. It's really sad because it's in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhedges63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Jhedges63,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wife and I with our 2 little ones (ages 2 and 6) stayed here one night before hopping on a Disney Cruise. The place served its puprose: It was clean and convenient and the staff was very family friendly. It is located next to one of the best Rain Forest Cafes I have ever been to, so that was a plus (especially for the kids). They even had a free shuttle to and from the restaurant, even though it was walking distance. Wi-Fi is free for guests but it wasn't that great, although they do have a free computer for guests to use in the lobby. Only negative experience was the fact that this is a resort and they have an on-site nightclub that plays VERY LOUD music from 9pm to 2am. We had a room next to the pool which is where the nightclub crowd walks out to for smoking outdoors, so club doors remained open and you could feel the bass. Had we known this we would have requested a room on a higher floor, away from the noise and crowd. Luckily my kids are heavy sleepers and they slept through it. BONUS: this hotel offers free shuttle service to certain cruise lines ... they take you right to the ports in Galveston FOR FREE!

Room Tip: They have a nightclub, so if you want peace and quiet then ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdaddypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing