We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient overnight for a cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed there the night before a cruise and it was fine. I'm not crazy about rooms that have an outside entrance, therefore the 4 star. The room was nice, but we had requested a rollaway and it took a real effort to make it work. The pillows really need to be improved too. Convenient to restaurants and close to the pier. Fine for a cruise but we probably wouldn't stay there otherwise...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bjaindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Thank you for letting us know on what we need to improve. We have completed an upgrade of the rooms and the pillows as well. Thank you again and we look forward to you returning to see out new product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here probably May 30 & 31st (+/- a week) of 2010. I had exactly the same intolerable experience as the 1 star reviewers from Dec. 18 and Nov. 18 2012.

I am sad to read that they are still this rude, inconsiderate and contemptible.

There is a nightclub attached to the hotel. They play music with the bass turned up so high, that it thumps in your room until at least 2 AM. When I complained to the desk they said, "We're a resort. We have to have a dance with loud music" and acted like it was my fault for staying there. I somehow should have known, because they are a "resort".

They claimed they would talk to the DJ, but the only result of that was that when the DJ left at 2AM, he apparently left the sound system turned up to full on automatic, because at 4AM loud thumping music was still being broadcast throughout the hotel at just as high a volume. When I complained at 4 AM, the desk clerk finally went into the (now empty) night club and turned down the music.

This "resort" has no respect for their guests. Our compensation for a sleepless, wasted night of valuable vacation time? Free breakfast. Yay.

In 2010 the best thing about the place was that they had a ping pong table in the recreation area. Now it's folded up and hidden in the utility room.

The last two summers we've had a very nice stay just down the seawall at the hotel that whose name sounds like a very good cowboy movie. They aren't perfect, but you get a good night's sleep there, without the idiocy of people who think that loud booming in your room all night is something you should expect at a "resort".

Room Tip: Don't. Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

SOCMED
Public Acknowledgment
Dear Jeff W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us and if your stay was negatively affected by the outside noise and poor customer service from our staff. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Rest assured, we will address this and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We selected this hotel for two reasons. We wanted a hotel with a cruise shuttle service/parking and close proximity to the ocean with ocean views. Upon arrival we were offered porter service and took advantage.We were placed in a room on the second floor overlooking the pool with a spectacular ocean view. We could hear the crashing waves on the balcony. We were worried about noise from the bar/nightclub, but we figured after a 15 hour drive we would sleep soundly. We were awoke from the booming bass of the nightclub shortly before they closed. We were able to return soundly asleep. The room was clean, even for a smoking room, there was not that overpowering stench of stale smoke. Did not eat in the restaurant instead sampling local fare.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassytraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2017

It has been a while, however we wanted to reach out to past guests and thank them for their business. We appreciate you as there are no spare customers. Thank you once again and we look forward to making more memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had stayed here once before on the night before the cruise and then switched to the nearby Hilton for our next two cruises. When we stayed here again, we remembered why we had switched. The room is updated, but has a window unit a/c which is loud to start with and then clunks on and off all night. If you choose fan only, the room becomes clammy due to the humidity. Also, the coffee maker did not work, but there is always coffee out in the lobby.

However, if the Hilton was not available, we would stay here again, due to the services provided to people taking a cruise.
The hotel lets you keep your car in their lot for the duration of your cruise and they also provide transportation to and from the cruise ship. This is a great service - when we arrived back in Galveston from our seven day cruise, the hotel van was waiting right in front of the door and we were back at our car within 20 minutes. All of the staff, both in the hotel and the shuttle drivers, were just excellent.
We had a room far away from the pool and bar, so that was not a problem. We enjoyed having a cocktail in their bar after dinner, although the bartenders are rathered scattered in their service.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the pool and bar. This is a party town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. I am glad to hear you had a great time and are wanting to return. Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and staff and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay the night before a cruise, don't pick this place. There is a bar and a pool right in front of the oceanview rooms and all you hear til 1:30 am is music in your room and drunk people talking outside your room. We called to complain and they did nothing.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smongie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear smongie,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here the night before our cruise on December 1. We had a balcony room on the 6th floor that overlooked the hotel pool and had a great view of the beach and water. Room was very clean. We arrived in the evening and while the lobby was very full, check-in was very quick and the front desk attendant was very polite. We had no major issues with the room. We couldn't get our iphones to charge with any of the outlets, which was very odd. We used every charger we had wtih us without luck. I know iphones can sometimes be tricky, so I wouldn't say it was a hotel issue, as I didn't have any issues using my hair dryer. We did speak with the front desk attendant and while she was perplexed too (lol), she did offer to have someone come up to look at it. We ended up declining since we would be leaving the next morning. Clean, friendly service and a nice room with a great view! If and when we come back to Galveston for another cruise or to enjoy a long weekend, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilingfairie_7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

It is great to hear that you would return to enjoy our great property again. We appreciate your business as there are no spare customers. Thank you once again and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

What a view, stayed up high and got a great view of the city and of the gulf and beach. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Have stayed several times when we have been in Galveston and enjoyed it each time. Reasonable rates and nice rooms. Hotel is placed close to the beach and many eating establishments.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet up top, with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

We do have an incredibly view and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to you returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.9 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $89 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing