We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Clay Center, Kansas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a View!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

What a view, stayed up high and got a great view of the city and of the gulf and beach. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Have stayed several times when we have been in Galveston and enjoyed it each time. Reasonable rates and nice rooms. Hotel is placed close to the beach and many eating establishments.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet up top, with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
We do have an incredibly view and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to you returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    324
    171
    90
    76
See reviews for
433
302
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waller, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days last week. We bought a house in Galveston and were doing some work, so we needed a place to stay for at reasonable price. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. All rooms have a balcony which we enjoyed at night when we got back to the hotel. Rooms had a fridge and microwave and a very nice large flatscreen tv. The pool was nice and clean, though we didn't have the opportunity to enjoy it. :( The only negative would be the sugar ants that invaded the bathroom every evening. We had the housekeeping staff spray something, but they still came back....every day. Overall, beds were nice and comfy, location was awesome, and staff was very friendly. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. We appreciate you business and look forward to you returning if possible on the near future. I hope the house is going well by the way...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights and were pleasantly surprised by the experience, as recent reviews were spotty. At check-in, the friendly clerk allowed to us obtain our room early and we were upgraded to the top floor with a spectacular view. Unfortunately the room was infested with sugar ants. Despite the best efforts of the staff, the ant problems continued, so we were given another equivalent room down the hall. In addition, were were given breakfast coupons for our stay due to the inconvenience. Although some of the common areas need updating, the rooms are very nice and clean. Seawall boulevard provides a wonderful area for walking, shopping, and dining. The staff was uniformly friendly and responsive.
I highly recommend this hotel and I would not hestitate to stay here again

Room Tip: The top floor (8) has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffcurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2017
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. We appreciate your business and look forward to you returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We got a very good deal online so we decided to stay here for a night before we board our cruise. This hotel is indeed on the beach and quite close to the port from where we had to board our Carnival Triumph. Our deal did not include free breakfast however this hotel is located at an ecxellent location with quite a few restaurants (from Rainforest cafe, Ihop to local restaurants) so we were good. It has Walmart and Kroger nearby so was good to purchase some last minute stuff for our little one. We really liked the location of this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2017
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate your business as there are no spare customers. Thank you once again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and if everything hadn't been booked up, I would have left in the middle of the night. We were on the 4th floor and evidently above the bar because a Zydeco band played until almost 2 a.m. It was so loud that our room vibrated. I called twice to complain to a disinterested front desk. You also couldn't park if you left in the evenings because all the people who came to the bar took up all the parking. We had to park a street over in the overflow parking lot. The second night, I thought surely not again, but yes, same band and same noise. This time I asked to talk to a manager who couldn't move us because they were booked full, but took a whomping $40 off my bill. I also discovered some ants or some sort of insects in the bathroom the morning of checkout. After this experience, I will never stay with Holiday Inn anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2017
I realize that it has been some time since your post, however I wanted to reach out to you to let you know we have made significant improvements with what you commented on. I encourage you to please contact me (Quinn B) to discuss your past stay and to see if I can make it right. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
189 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Are you ready for this? You are about to read a bad review about room 821 in the Holiday Inn "Resort" in Galveston. Do not stay at this hotel, unless you want...

--Door to outside that doesn't shut unless you put some weight behind it and do it just the right way so the latch matches up and you can actually lock the door.

--Security latch on door that is falling off the doorframe and can't secure itself, much less you! (Oh, and when they come fix it, the guy from the "engineering dept" comes up to the eighth floor with a luggage dolly and says, "Did you need this?" Really? Then, when he's told the real reason he was called to your room, he says he has to come back, then. I told him forget it.

--A luggage rack that breaks the moment you put actual luggage on it.

--Birds that wake you up at 4 am the first night you stay and a party with a live band that keeps you up until 4 am ( well, almost) the next night!

--A TV that doesn't work because they are upgrading to HD. All day??

--A restaurant that charges $9.99 per person for a very bland breakfast buffet complete with those runny, typical school cafeteria, eggs.

--A shower head appropriately positioned for a short person. It was too low for my wife or myself. She is 5'9" and I'm 6'1" --neither of that tall, but maybe a little above average.

--A steel fixture that is incomplete in the bathroom to hang the blow dryer on. Really...the maid hung the blow dryer on this thing that looks like it should have something really nice on it, but in its current form, is a steel contraption with the name of the manufacturer on it.

--A hotel that from the outside looks like something you'd see on a 70s game show. You know, "You've won 7 days and 6 nights in the fabulous Holiday Inn Resort in Galveston, TX overlooking the beautiful Gulf of Mexico". Seriously, the hotel looks like one of the pictures on and old Price is Right or something.

--A staff that sends you to their 800 number when you want to address some concerns you have. (And a manager that says, "they shouldn't have done that" when you call back after lodging a very bad complaint with corporate.).

Yeah, stay at this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pli876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Pli876,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Reference # 32571478
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Each room had a balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. The front desk clerk was very helpful and offered us a gift upon arrival with coupons, water and snacks. Before we arrived we were told to request rooms above the third floor and away from air-conditioning. We were on the sixth floor. During the night it was very quiet and we got a good nights sleep. Overall this hotel was a bargain for the price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qbussey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, March 1, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and comments about the staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to you returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.3 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5993
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing