We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for the price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachcomber Inn
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wanted a few days at the beach and this place seemed a good fit for my budget. It is located a bit off Seawall Blvd., on the center west end of the island. It is a pretty good location, close to the heavily used beach areas to the east and not too far from the Strand. The room was small, but clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The A.C. was very cold and my computer went online with no problems. I have stayed several places in Galveston, and for the money, this is not bad. The room had a nice T.V. and a good selection of channels.

Room Tip: Stay in the back, away from the pool and 61st. Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    78
    52
    36
    69
See reviews for
95
87
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Mississippi
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked this place off of the reviews, We just wanted a clean room with paying mega bucks.. we got it. The hotel is older but clean. There is a Waffle House beside it and the more expensive hotels are on the Sea Wall but we walked the entire Wall and had a great time exploring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redcurls875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here in the off-season, so it was very affordable. Rooms were very clean. The desk clerk, Jeff, was very helpful, attentive, and informative. The hotel is just a block (if that) off the gulf of mexico. Next to three restaurants, within a block of several more and a major shopping center...but you'd never know it. Quiet, safe, and clean. And above all...very affordable. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParrotLaureateJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room was clean, and the staff was courteous (with one exception). But that's all I can say for this place. You get what you pay for. There was a scratching sound in the smoke detector over the bed. Think bugs. Someone came to give a listen, but that was all. He said it was normal. I said wanted a different room. He left to check the detectors in other rooms and said they all made that noise. I doubt it. It's a hard-wired detector. There's no reason it should have sounded like bugs crawling around inside. The sound went on all night. Sometimes it was soft, sometimes it was louder, sometimes it would stop for a few minutes, presumably b/c the the bugs were catching a few zzzz's which I definitely wasn't. Also, two of the three lamps didn't work. The clock didn't work. The carpet was lumpy and felt damp. I could go on. I regret that I didn't pay $40 more to stay someplace that didn't have these strange amenities.

Room Tip: Avoid room 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lonestarkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galveston hotels

Houston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a room booked at the La Quinta in Glaveston Memorial Day Weekend but when we arrived there was nothing available and I had made a mistake on my reservation as far as check in date. Only 2 places we called had availability, the super 8 and beachcomber for nearly $200 a night. Since we had already made the drive we had no choice so we reluctantly stayed at the beachcomber thinking it would at least be nicer than the super 8. We couldn't of been more wrong. I have paid less to stay at the westin than this place. It is a DUMP!

Room Tip: STAY AWAY! They charged us nearly $200 for a room worse than any motel 6 we have ever stayed in. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chappella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great Price with Great location close to the beach(walking distance) Clean comfortable rooms, great service, Clean outdoor pool, the continental breakfast was a great plus. When we arrived our AC in our room was not working properly, as soon as I let the clerk know, he called the Maintenance man, Carlos and within 30 miniutes Carlos had a brand new AC unit installed and we were cool and comfortable in no time! This is the second time we have stayed at the Beachcomber and we will definitely be back on our next trip to Galveston!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The old window drapes were stained, the walls look like something was splashed(soda) on them and never cleaned, the bathtub was dirty, toilet barely flushed and saw a few roaches. The bathroom could use a lot better lighting. The king bed was nice, as were the staff. Just needs a lot of tlc.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsx90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
1.3 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#25 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#40 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Inn

Property: Beachcomber Inn
Address: 2825 61st St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachcomber Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Galveston
Beachcomber Motel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing