We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Cheap but descent" I guess” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachcomber Inn
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Unalaska, Alaska
1 review
“"Cheap but descent" I guess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My first night was pretty good,no problems.Next night was different story,while i was in my bed i felt something around my ear,.I just figured it was nothing then later as I walking to th bathroom and i felt a bite,i look down and it was a flea on my toe.So keep in mind not the clean is place.But you get what you pay for right ? Maybe tomorrow tight will be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    78
    52
    36
    69
See reviews for
95
87
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ktmoefun
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night with our two kids when we decided to drive in late one night before going to our condo the next day. It was clean and quiet. Only a short walk to the Seawall and beach. Continental breakfast was basic but ok. For $40 we were happy with it. Would stay again for a low cost option. Did see some unsavory-looking characters in the parking lot at night but everyone was friendly and we had no problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmoefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth,tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We just returned from the Beachcomber Inn. We were only going to be in Galveston for one day and after checking other hotels we decided to book a room here. We were not sorry. Chris at the front desk was so helpful and very friendly. We got to the hotel early and he had a room ready for us. The room was very clean and quite. It is not a five star hotel but it also does not have a five star price. For the price we found it clean and had everything that we needed.
We plan to return with our family. The price is reasonable enough that you could rent two adjoining rooms and still be under what most hotels cost.

Room Tip: We stayed on the other side of the hotel from the Waffle House. If possible try for that side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agnes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have never written a review for a hotel before, but my experience here was so terrible, I felt I had to warn others.
Everything seemed fine when we checked in to our room, but the next morning we awoke to a strong smell of urine. I discovered that my side of the bed had clearly been wetted, and the hotel had simply put a clean mattress protector over it (they cars not possibly have failed to notice).
During the night it had soaked through and completely saturated by pyjamas.
I have never had to sleep in someone else's wee before!
When I tod the management the next day, there was no apology, and no hint of any remorse.
Do NOT stay in this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rokison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galveston hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed during a Mardi Gras weekend, so paid triple the non-peak room rate. Asked for non-smoking room at time of reservation. First room offered to us on second floor smelled of cigarette smoke so luckily, there was another room on lower level that was available when we asked for a room change. Clean but room didn't have a chair or small sofa to sit on, so we ended up sitting on the bed if we needed to watch TV. Close to beach but not beachfront. Entrance door to room had a small gap underneath where it meets the threshold, which allowed the outdoor lights at night to shine through and let us always hear if someone was walking or talking in front of our room. Not good for light sleepers. Two thin pillows, so bring your extra pillow if you need more support. Mini fridge available. Staff at check-in and check-out were friendly. Didn't stay to try the continental breakfast. Would I stay here again? Only if I needed a place to stay overnight, not longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R2M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Love it..close to the beach and the rooms have everything you need... pet friendly. Better than others..we check others and no body would accept pets they did at not extra charge. Rooms are clean with a mini fridge, safe.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Husband and family in Galveston for surgery at UTMB Sealy Hospital. 10-15 min drive. Plenty of parking. Wi-Fi no problems. None of usual beach hotel problems. No sand, carpets clean. Heat already on at our arrival. Should of noted settings- we turned off then up and down. Should have asked office for best setting. 2 days to find it again. 4 day stay. Good standard cont. breakfast. Got requested adjoining rooms. Only thing not as advertised was no table in one room. Discounts used from hospital list- ask front desk. Best under 45$ hotel stayed at in last 10 years. 4 people -same room price.

Room Tip: Coffee made on request Staff listening to needs of visitors. Call or ask in office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
1.3 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#25 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#39 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.8 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#32 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Inn

Property: Beachcomber Inn
Address: 2825 61st St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachcomber Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Galveston
Beachcomber Motel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing