We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Value Close to the Sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachcomber Inn
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Value Close to the Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for New Years and it was quite nice. If you are value driven you can't go wrong here. Off season price was less than $50 for a King room. The bed was comfortable, room was clean and smelled clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarynPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    76
    50
    34
    69
See reviews for
91
84
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I love this little place! After reading lots of reviews, I chose to stay at the Beachcomber for 2 nights before a Carnival cruise. The king room (#143) was sizable, very clean & ideal for this leg of vacation. The front desk staff was very kind and helpful. We enjoyed the continental breakfast and going next door to Waffle House for breakfast. Location is superb for walking along the seawall and to dozens of restaurants. I decided to add an extra night at the end of the cruise and was so delighted to be welcomed back by the staff and receive the same nice room. I don't know how they accomplish such a wonderful little motel at $40 a night!!!

Room Tip: They have a laundry room with a commercial washer & dryer ($1.50) each and they sell laundry det...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VATravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you ever want the gulf to be right out your back door without paying hundreds of dollars per night this is the place, and they dont charge you extra for 4 people in the room and you can leave your car there if you go on a cruise, no extra charge, now they dont have a shuttle to the pier or anything but the ride for 2 people is less than 20.00.

We stayed there 3 days before the cruise and 1 night after and visited the beach within walking distance everyday (1 block of the seawall) and there is a refrig. and micro in the room along with a safe and the greatest flat screen TV, clean, upkeep great, and beds are not bad, I would reccommend the king over 2 doubles, a little more comfortable.

We always stay here and we will again, we had a wonderful Thanksgiving in Galveston and a wonderful cruise vacation, thanks to the affordable price of the Beachcomber Inn.
Also Wonderful Continental Breakfast pastrys, toast, cereals and juice.

Room Tip: if 2 people get a king on the South side of the Hotel if 4 people get 2 rooms with kings in each, 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skelley1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stay the night before our Carnival cruise. It was a great little place for the money. We wanted to spend our money on the cruise not a hotel room for 1 night. This is a clean place. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The made some great suggestions. There was enough restaurants in walking distance. There is a liquor store and grocery store too. I would definitely stay there again! If you are like us and don't need anything too fancy then stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busdriver159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After reading alot of negative reviews about the Beachcomber Inn after I booked the room for
November 10th the night before my cruise I was worried. However I was pleasantly surprised.
The room was clean and I did not see one roach. It was a block away from the beach and
right next to several restaurant. If you are taking a cruise they let you keep your car there
for the week free of charge and will call a cab for you to take you to the ship. I did not use
this service but it's nice to know you can do this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacy-Lakeview, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed the weekend there the rooms were clean ,the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend a stay there Its just 1 block from seawall. Went to the desk and Asked for more towels The front desk guy Jeff got them without asking a question .asked about things to do he was very helpful The young guy in the morning was kind of short but overall was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There is nothing wrong with this motel! Currently sat in it at the minute. My room is clean and way better then what I was expecting after reading some of the reviews on here. Literally about 100 meters from the beach and everything you need is within walking distance. Nearby attractions take maybe a 5/10min drive. Very convenient and I would definitely stay here again. I think some people seem to be expecting 5* luxury for budget money!

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing waffle house seems quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy270486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#40 of 52 in Galveston
2.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#24 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Inn

Property: Beachcomber Inn
Address: 2825 61st St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachcomber Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Galveston
Beachcomber Motel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing