We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family favorite for 10+ years!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have been staying at Casa del Mar for our yearly vacation (and weekend get-a-ways throughout the year) for more than 10 years. We have never been disappointed.

Every room has a large balcony and great ocean view. The rooms are clean and very cleverly designed. The staff are friendly and always helpful.

The price is fabulous for what you get if you are looking for a clean, family-friendly place in a great location.

Just a quick jaunt across the street and you are on the beach, which is typically very well kept and has a lifeguard, rentals for beach chairs and umbrellas, etc. I say "typically" well kept because there are years where the seaweed is kind of yucky - but that's only happened once or twice and it of course has nothing to do with the condo - just thought I'd note it.

There is also a pier right across the street where you can go fishing and also hang out and get ice cream and snacks.

Casa del Mar is very conveniently located directly on the seawall, and you really won't beat the price for such a primo location on Galveston Island!

Can't imagine staying anywhere else.

P.S. get on their e-mail list and you get regular coupons for great deals throughout the year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 473 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed there for a few nights during Spring Break. This was a great hotel for the money. Right across from the beach on the seawall, close to everything, loved the balcony and plenty big for a family of 4. The staff was excellent and very friendly. Had one issue with the bathroom and they had it fixed immediately. For those leaving bad reviews, yes, the hotel is a little dated; however, they aren't claiming to be a 5 star hotel or charging for it. It is rated 3 star and every bit as good as the rating. We were very happy with our visit and have stayed in anything from a 1 star to a 5.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has a great location on the seawall. Rooms are actually condos and ample size for two people. Would be a bit cramped with more adults. Kids would be ok. They have bunk beds to accommodate. Was nice to have the little kitchen. There was a window in the bedroom that opened to the hallway. It had curtains, but was still a bit awkward. It was off season so I never heard noise from other people walking by. Great view of the ocean. Bedroom was in back so no noise from the seawall traffic. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwilson785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I decided to get away for a weekend. We chose the Casa del Mar for the price and availability along with the kitchen in the room. We love to save money by getting a hotel room with a kitchen in it so I can cook breakfast and yummy snacks! We really enjoyed the Casa del Mar. The location was great, which was walking distance to a grocery store, gas station and the Rainforest Cafe. We took our 1 year old son there Friday night and he loved it. The rooms are not 5 star (meaning you can tell it is an older hotel) but they are useful for a family and clean. The staff was great! We had Kendall check us in and he was so sweet and helpful! We would stay here again. The kitchen comes complete with dishes, pots and pans, so you just bring your food! They also have 2 pools available and one of them is heated! We went to the beach for a while but the water was very cold so we went to the warm pool and had a great time!

Room Tip: Most rooms face the ocean but some don't, so be sure to ask if want a view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

All the rooms are lovely at the Casa Del Mar, and my family and I loved our week in this hotel. All the rooms have a wonderful view of the ocean, but the rooms in the front have the best oceanfront view. They have a master bedroom, twin beds for the kids, a kitchenette. They have pans, dishes, and utensils, and a refrigerator, small oven, and microwave. You can go to Kroger which is close by, and enjoy some of your meals in the room or pack a picnic lunch for the beach across the street. They have a sofa bed, and this is one hotel where we gladly return to. The staff is friendly and very helpful! They have a heated pool in case the beach is too cold. We loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just got back from spring break spent at Casa Del Mar. We rented a private unit from Wilma and Betty Beach Rentals. The condo was really nice and very clean. While these are not large suites, we had our family of five and we were comfortable. We enjoyed being able to walk to restuarants and the beach. Wilma and Betty could not have been any better - took great care of us and it is evident that they take pride in their property. The grounds of Casa Del Mar were well kept and the pools were very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Rented a suite for two nights - one bedroom, two bunkbeds, and a pull-out sofa. It would have been jammed if we had six people in the apartment. Lots of families settling in for the March break. The accommodation was clean, and the kitchen area well equipped, with a coffee maker, a microwave, and a stove. Very close to the beach, it was handy for long walks on the breakwater, and would be great for families heading for the beach. The roads are very busy, so avoid rooms on the east side of the complex, as they directly overlook the road. Two pools were well maintained. Front desk was friendly and helpful. They phoned the day before our last night to offer us a third night for a greatly reduced rate, which would have been very attractive had we been able to stay. Good functional accommodation for a small family or party of three adults.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
3.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Address: 6102 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $140 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best Condo Rental on the Island! Our on site Galveston team personally handles your reservation when you book direct. We guarantee the best service, rates & packages! Casa del Mar Beachfront Suites - always a super value; ideal for a family vacation or a weekend getaway for two. When you’re looking for the ideal lodging choice, why stay in an ordinary hotel when you can have all the comforts of home in a beachfront suite ? Casa del Mar Beachfront Suites are a super value, ideal for a family vacation or a weekend getaway for two. Each fully furnished suite offers a private balcony for you to relax and enjoy the view as well as a small living area with a newly remodeled studio kitchen. There is a small private bedroom with a queen size bed and in the living area, a queen sofa sleeper and a set of Junior bunks designed for small children under the age of 10. We have two tropical pools (one seasonally heated), a trellised Bar-B-Que area, laundry facilities and Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all suites and throughout the property. Our beautifully landscaped property also features conference and catering facilities ideal for family reunions, small groups and corporate retreats. Casa del Mar is conveniently located right on the Seawall beachfront, central to all of the Island's great restaurants, shopping and favorite attractions. Relax by the pool, take a sunset stroll on the beach or enjoy Galveston's rich Island history. Casa del Mar and Galveston Island offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing