We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great rental house”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to The Driftwood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Driftwood
The private neighborhood beach is just a few blocks away!! The Tiki Bar.  Enjoy ping-pong, washer pits, grilling, or just relaxing watching tv
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Welcome to The Driftwood
The private neighborhood beach is just a few blocks away!!
The Tiki Bar.  Enjoy ping-pong, washer pits, grilling, or just relaxing watching tv
Sitting area on the main deck
Sunset from the deck
View of den area
Living, dining and kitchen are open
Kitchen has everything you need and a Keurig
Kids room has twin beds, TV and X-box!
Two twin beds, TV and an X-box all located in Kids' Room
Second bedroom has a queen bed and TV
Bathroom on main floor
Master Bedroom
Enjoy the sun setting over the water from the king bed
Have a glass of wine on the master balcony and enjoy the views or read a book.
Sunset from the master balcony
Glimpse of the bay from the master balcony
Master Bathroom
Master Bathroom with walk in closet
Aonther view of the communities' private beach
850' fishing pier with lights for night fishing or crabbing only blocks away!
Bay view from the pier
Pool is just across just the street! Open Labor Day to Memorial Day ($100 fee covers 8 guest for wk)
Only ONE block away is the West End Marina which includes....
the 4* restaurant, the Sand Bar, a general store, and fresh fish market.
Inside the sandbar
The Driftwood is a few feet from the playground/park
The park has basketball and sand volleyball courts
Just a few more pictures and views....
Washer pit
View from the main deck
Map of the amenities around The Driftwood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galveston, Galveston Island, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Go701151
1 review
“Great rental house”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We enjoyed our stay in quite neighborhood near the beach. The house was perfect for our family. We loved the tiki bar . We cooked out often. I love that there were condiments and soaput for washer. Great time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dianelegg...
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful home close to the beach”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Wonderful and well appointed home close to the beach. Great house for kids with a cute kid's room stocked with games and adorable beach theme decorations. Our grandkids loved it! The downstairs, Tiki bar area, was a great place for the kids to ride their bikes and play. We just wish the weather had cooperated but thankful for having such a welcoming home to stay in during the storms. Close to the marina, tennis courts, restaurant and play ground. Looking forward to next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storytell...
1 review
“Just what we needed and awesome.”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a great time out there and the view was awesome. The property was well kept and beautiful. I'd like to thank the owners for the bottle of wine that they left for me and my spouse. We really enjoyed it. All the rooms were nice and comfortable. I liked the way the kitchen and eating area was arranged. I can't say enough, but the front deck was gorgeous. If I had to build another house, I would build one like this. We thank the owners for allowing us to share their home for our vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Home
Liked least: Location of the Beach
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Escape!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family recently stayed at The Driftwood for a weekend getaway. We have 2 girls, ages 7 & 9. The entire family had a great time. The beach is a short drive (5 minutes), and we spent the day playing in the surf and soaking up the sun. The downstairs cantina of The Driftwood is where we spent most of our time. We cooked and ate our meals outside. Also, there is a ping pong table and washers -the girls played games the entire time!! The inside of the house was FANTASTIC. The pictures were nice, but the house is even nicer in person. The layout was perfect for our family...and even a few more people could have fit!! We really enjoyed our time and we will most definitely be back. The owner is quick to respond if we had any questions.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie512
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
“Don't stay anywhere else in Galveston”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked 4 nights at the Driftwood and could not have been happier with our stay. First of all, the house has been recently remodeled and is GORGEOUS. The owners have great taste! The beds, linens pillows all appeared brand new and were so comfortable. I have back pain at times and often staying at a hotel I will have trouble sleeping if the beds are low quality...not so at this place!
The house comfortably slept 8 people. We traveled with both adults and kids and there was so much to do. Inside they provide many board games to get the kids off screens (mine discovered Clue!!), there is a ping pong table downstairs, and also a huge playground and nice pool (with shaded lounging for adults) within view of the house. We could see our kids playing on the playground while we sat at the Tiki Bar in the carport, win/win! There are multiple decks for lounging and watching the incredible sunset (or you can walk down to the marina and sit on the water, which we also did, while enjoying a cold beverage from the restaurant on property).
Inside there are big, flat screen tv's in every room and a PS4 in the "kids' room". I had to drag my kids off property to go to the beach, lol!! Honestly the best way to get them to leave the property was to offer a ride in the golf cart! This was a blast! I highly recommend renting one. The beach is a 3 minute drive away via the golf cart... There is a rental service down the road and they provide drop off and pick up...super easy. We took the cart to the beach every day and also at night for mini-crab hunting and a bonfire. We also drove it to the neighborhood pier and caught 4 fish and 6 crabs in an hour!!! There is a store right there that sells bait as well as some groceries and toiletries and anything else you might have forgotten. If you don't want a golf cart you could bring bikes...I saw many people doing this and the property is very bike friendly.
We had a great time enjoying the town of Galveston (a quick 15-20 min drive). We went to Pleasure Pier, shopped on the Strand, and ate some delicious seafood. Did not have time to do the harbor cruise/dolphin watch tour, see the historic homes or do the ghost tour... Well that just means we will get to do these things on our next visit
Do yourself a favor and book the Driftwood for your next beach vacation. You will love the house, love the amenities and love the location. The owners make everything so easy and the rental process was a snap. See you soon Driftwood!!!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing