We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cool place for coffee”

MOD Coffee House & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a cool place for coffee”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Loved the vibe, loved the coffee. Wish I didn't have to jam out of there so fast. I would have loved to just sit and sip my yummy latte.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RaynesGame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    59
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to rest your dogs”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The location (away from cruise shippers) makes this an ideal place for a quiet cup. Their light meals look good - but I can say for certain their baked nosh's are pretty good accompanied by a decent cup of coffee and the kindest baristas.
We used to head down for music on Friday nights but it's been a bit hit and miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Seattleslew4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hang out spot”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely great atmosphere, great customer service. I ordered a Mocha Freeze last time Iv went today and it was delicious

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
2,371 reviews
1,726 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 979 helpful votes
“Real Neat Coffee Shop”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This coffee shop is off the beaten path and is in the downtown section where many of the buildings that were flooded during the last hurricane have now been restored. There is seating both inside and a nice little area on the sidewalk. This is not a touristy area thus you can have the time to enjoy without having a lot of pedestrian traffic. The coffee is good too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious cold coffee drinks & smoothies”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stopped in while shopping one HOT afternoon on Post Office St. We were on our way to a particular store a few doors down & the heat just floored us, so we stopped on the way back to the car on advice from the ladt at the Witchery. I think the smoothie guy was Travis ? Forgive me for not recalling your name.....most delicious blend of veggies in a green smoothie EVER !!! I would NEVER have known they were in there. We also ordered iced coffee drinks. Prices were on par with Starbucks, actually less I think, and the quality & care the baristas took in crafting our drinks were far superior. This will now be a destination each time I visit !!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank robin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MOD Coffee House & Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to MOD Coffee House & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing