We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Galveston
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and never had any complaints.
The staff are super friendly and helpful, this is a big part of why we return.
The rooms are nice and large and have a pull out sofa but needing updating.
The tv's are the old box type and very do not have a very clear picture.
The bedspreads could also use an upgrade to something more modern and appealing.
With this being said, the rooms are ALWAYS clean and any request we have made has been
taken care of immediately.
Overal, a good place to stay close to the seawall. And right across the street from the Movie
theatre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlaintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I picked this to be close to the ocean and it was perfect. It is in a really nice location, close to the ocean and an easy walk to several restaurants up and down the street.
I researched the hotels; it is hard to tell from looking at a map, how close they will be to the ocean. What I learned is that you have to cross a street from all hotels to get to the sand and ocean, and this was a really nice location.
I loved it and we will come back and stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy0272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My daughter and her boyfriend stayed at this location and they loved it. They mention that it was very clean and the rooms were very spacious. Also, their staff was absolutely amazing. Thank you Miguel and Cristina for making my kids stay very pleasant and smooth.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCali7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I decided on our way home from our friends' house to stay in Galveston this Labor Day weekend. After trying two other hotels in the area that were way overpriced we stopped at the Comfort Suites. $100 LESS than the nearby Holiday Inn Express and great room. The lady behind the desk gave us one of the last two "view" rooms. Was perfect. Could easily walk up to the Seawall and being set back about a block from the main drag helped with the noise. VERY friendly front desk. Only problem was the free breakfast the next morning. You would think they would have been better prepared for the amount of guests. Ran short of everything. However, all in all this is a nice option to stay at.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libbyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband wanted to do a spontaneous overnight with the kids (3 & 4yrs). We stayed at a handful of hotels on the island from the strand to the seawall. This by far is the best hotel for price and quality. Can't beat it. Hope it keeps up the awesome work. I will not look around for hotels and cheap prices on the island again - I'll just head to the comfort Suites. Probably should be keeping this place a secret.

Room Tip: Get a upper level floor. Cars park right at the windows of first floor rooms - at least in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We've stayed at several hotels around Galveston. What we loved about this little jewel was the cleanliness, great customer service, large rooms and nice breakfast compared to other higher star hotels on the seawall. Our main reason for going with this hotel was the price (lowest on the island), previous reviews and proximity to attractions

Pros:
• This hotel is pushed back a little off the sea wall which gives you some Quietness from the heavy traffic.
• Free wi-fi and breakfast
• Tthe beds were wonderful
• Bathrooms large.
• Pool was clean

Cons:
• Doesn't have a front view of the beach if you want to be right on the beach.
• Bathroom door was in the way of the bathtub - a little annoying if I'd stayed more than one night (with little kids that you have to bathe). None issue with out babies.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms aren't worth the extra $20 because you are farther from the ocean view, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLGibson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We just got back from galveston and we staid here. I was very happy with the hotel. We got a sweet with 2 queen beds and a couch it was perfict. We will defanently stay here again. :) it was very clean the hot tub did freak me out. But pool was ok. They do need a light on there road it was hard to get out. But thats ok we weren't in any hurry.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Galveston

Address: 3606 89th St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: $88 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Galveston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing