We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be bothering with any other hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Galveston
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Won't be bothering with any other hotel”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband wanted to do a spontaneous overnight with the kids (3 & 4yrs). We stayed at a handful of hotels on the island from the strand to the seawall. This by far is the best hotel for price and quality. Can't beat it. Hope it keeps up the awesome work. I will not look around for hotels and cheap prices on the island again - I'll just head to the comfort Suites. Probably should be keeping this place a secret.

Room Tip: Get a upper level floor. Cars park right at the windows of first floor rooms - at least in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    66
    40
    19
    14
See reviews for
110
71
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We've stayed at several hotels around Galveston. What we loved about this little jewel was the cleanliness, great customer service, large rooms and nice breakfast compared to other higher star hotels on the seawall. Our main reason for going with this hotel was the price (lowest on the island), previous reviews and proximity to attractions

Pros:
• This hotel is pushed back a little off the sea wall which gives you some Quietness from the heavy traffic.
• Free wi-fi and breakfast
• Tthe beds were wonderful
• Bathrooms large.
• Pool was clean

Cons:
• Doesn't have a front view of the beach if you want to be right on the beach.
• Bathroom door was in the way of the bathtub - a little annoying if I'd stayed more than one night (with little kids that you have to bathe). None issue with out babies.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms aren't worth the extra $20 because you are farther from the ocean view, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLGibson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We just got back from galveston and we staid here. I was very happy with the hotel. We got a sweet with 2 queen beds and a couch it was perfict. We will defanently stay here again. :) it was very clean the hot tub did freak me out. But pool was ok. They do need a light on there road it was hard to get out. But thats ok we weren't in any hurry.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony. The room was clean and spacious. Checkin and checkout were easy. Breakfast was a bit of a zoo, but that was more due to the other guests than anything the hotel could control. What I didn't know was how far the hotel was from any beach. It's so close to the ocean, I thought we would be able to walk to the beach, but it's just seawall and ocean by this hotel. It's not that fun loading up wet sandy kids in the car. It's a fine property, but we'll stay closer to the beaches next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank austx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here with family thursday 8/9. Our room was just large enough for two queen beds and sofa sleeper and it included a balcony. Check in went fine and room was ready at 4:00 when we arrived. Lobby, room, beds, bathrooms, pool area...everything appeared very clean especially for an island hotel. Room a/c was off when we arrived and took a couple of hours for the room to cool down. Although no thermostat, high cold setting never felt colder than maybe 77 degrees.
We ate a nearby burger/shrimp (Big Amos) shop and it's just okay...everything is fried?
Breakfast at hotel next day much better than most free offerings. It included waffles, eggs, sausage, cereals, juices, coffee, toast and danish. Plenty of seating and lady kept it stocked until 9:30 when they quickly shut it down.
They agreed to let us check out late so we enjoyed the beach, waves, pool and shower before check out. The hotel is a little pricey for a CS but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling07Texans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed only 1 night before cruising. Rooms were clean & spacious. Breakfast was typical comfort inn breakfast so don't expect fine dining. I booked this hotel because of free cruise parking and the shuttle to the cruise ship was $20 each way. A few weeks before I found a parking lot directly across the street from the cruise terminal called park N cruise and it was only $50. Worth the extra $10.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 504Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before our cruise out of Galveston. It was a comfortable hotel. Nothing fancy. It is not on the beach, just so you know. The hotel is near a neat little swim shop that is worth a stop. Hotel has a shuttle service to the cruise ship which was convenient because we didn't have to pay for parking at the cruise terminal.

Room Tip: Although not on the beach, you can get a room up high enough that faces the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jneuzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Galveston

Property: Comfort Suites Galveston
Address: 3606 89th St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Galveston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing