We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, but noisy.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff, but noisy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights before a cruise. We stayed on points, so that might explain why we got the worst room, even as gold members. The decor is current which is nice, and the staff was very nice. They even gave us free stamps for our postcards. Breakfast was great for what is expected. Unfortunately, the hotel was built cheap. Leaks in the shower, sloppy construction, cheap windows that let all the highway noise in all night. Makes it hard to sleep. Also has outdated TVs and the air conditioning rattles. TV is in a bad spot so you can't sit in bed and watch very easily. Not a bad place, but feels more like Marriott's Fairfield Inn brand than the Springhill Suites.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kc5cbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    100
    37
    15
    19
See reviews for
118
63
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We must have hit it at the right time because we had a lovely time in this hotel.
We were impressed with Galveston and The Strand has absolutely lovely houses.
But....the hotel. We did not have any problems with this at all. Breakfast was set out very nicely. Bed was clean and comfortable.
Do need a car though as it is an easy 5 minute drive to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flsurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

The remote for the tv didn't work at all. My husband went down twice and still didn't work. When he went to the front desk with my little girl and the girl there was very rude. Sadly my little one had to see someone being nasty to her dad...UNCALLED FOR! Our girls did not get to watch tv at all. The comforter was nasty and dirty. The beds are terrible. I talked to the hotel manager and when I saw (Indian or pakistan man) I knew I wouldn't even get a penny back. SHAME ON YOU for stealing my good money! SHAME ON YOU running a property that is dirty.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cruising_familyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

When we first checked in, we had problems gettting the rooms we wanted. We had reserved 2 connecting rooms, but there had been a miscommunication and we were given rooms across the hall--not an option as we were travelling with small children. The rooms were fine and clean (although both with double beds--why do hotels do that?). In fact there was no black residue on the bottom of our white socks as you often find in hotels. After dinner on teh first night we came back to find one of the rooms stinking of something rotten-like cooked cabbage or something dead. The manager said-let the air conditioner run, it will go away. Are you kidding me? The smell did not go away and it was quickly approaching bedtime for our children. We insisted on changing rooms and were given the ones directly below. The rooms were just as clean (one little bug in the bathroom--never saw anything else -and I was looking!). The rooms were also roomy with plenty of space to play.

As for the noise, it was much worse in the 3rd floor rooms. We finally discovered that one room had missing weather-stripping around the "balcony" door and the other room had a working window that did not slide closed well enough for the locks to click into place.

The hotel does not have any highchairs!!!!! (Why would you have cribs on hand but no highchairs???)

Location is off the highway as others have said. It only took us about 10 minutes to get to Moody Gardens or the Seawall and a little longer to get to the Strand area.

I would recommend this hotel for a short-inexpensive stay, but if you're looking for something fabulous, this is not it.

As for Galveston itself--we nwere there in the off-season but during a huge teachers conference. I cannot tell you how shocked we were by the paltry selection of restaurants for a supposedly hot tourist location. We ended up eating in the same restaurants for several of the meals. Service was iffy everywhere.

BEST PART OF OUR TRIP----The donuts at Homecuts are absolutely amazing. I don't know why, but I've never had a better powdered sugar cake donut.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llocdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

I was hesitant to stay at this hotel due to the negative reviews, but I decided to try it anyway.

I really liked this hotel, and I have no complaints at all. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The hotel is very clean and new. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and I didn't see any ants or bugs as reported in some of the reviews. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. My room faced the highway, but I didn't feel the traffic noise was excessive. It was mostly blocked by the AC fan. The breakfast was above average for a continental breakfast at a hotel. Breakfast included eggs, sausage, oatmeal, cereal, fruit, pastries, bagels, make your own waffles, and more.

The only downside to this hotel is the location. If you are looking for a hotel that is walking distance to the beach or the Strand, this is not. You basically have to drive to all of the fun spots in Galveston. However, I have stayed at many of the hotels on the Seawall, and I thought this hotel was nicer and cleaner than those. So personally, I would choose this hotel over the hotels on the Seawall at which I have stayed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

I stayed here for a total of 3 months from May to August 09. I put up with a lot of discomfort that I would normally not have put up with, except I'm a glutton for Marriott Points and this place gives you 10 points for every 1 dollar spent. If my company hadn't paid for my stay, and if I didn't get any points, I would not have stayed here even one day.
The hotel did a lot of refurbishing after Hurricane Ike in Sept 08, so all the rooms have new beds, linens, towels, etc. But the staff is incompetent (young, untrained, can't even transfer incoming phone calls half the time), the A/C is loud and inconsistent (I stayed in about 10 different rooms throughout all 4 floors of the place and there was a wide range of hot/cold rooms), the breakfast is cheap and nasty (fake eggs anyone??), and the workout room is a joke (2 treadmills and a broken stairstepper). Unless your company pays for your stay and/or you get free points, I would not waste my time here. The hotel is nowhere near the beach. It is located next to an abandoned building right off a noisy freeway which is about all you will see out of your window. You're better off finding an inexpensive hotel/motel right on Seawall Blvd.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyLePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

I've read the other reviews here, and I'm amazed. We stayed due to the rate we received from a Marriott employee friend, but I would stay here every time I come back to Galveston. The room was clean and nice. We had zero problems with the front desk. The breakfast was "standard free breakfast" fare, so if you're not expecting eggs benedict & mimosas, you aren't going to be disappointed. The pool was warm and well-kept.

Pre-Ike this wasn't the best part of town. There is still a lot of wreckage around the hotel itself. The houses being built in the place of trailers are $1M-plus. There's a new Target on the other side of the highway. The views on the north side of the hotel are great - Moody Gardens and the back bay.

I can't say enough good things about this place. And I hope the other reviewers here will give it another chance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
3.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Property: SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing