We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Galveston Island to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I chose the Springhill Suites for our stay due to it's proximity to the Moody Gardens area but at a reasonable price. The hotel is located just off the highway as you come onto Galveston island so it is not by the ocean but it was just a short 10 minute drive to get there. There is a Target and other stores close by. The rooms were clean and everything was in good repair. The space was nice with the sleeping area separated from the "living" area. The bed was comfortable but I could tell that the "pillowtop" was indented on my side of the bed. There was also a bar area with a sink, microwave and fridge (no freezer section). The breakfast had good variety with pastry items, waffles, eggs, sausage, cereals and fruit. The hot food was hot and everything appeared fresh. The pool area was clean with a small indoor heated pool and whirlpool. The exercise space was small with only 2 treadmills and an elliptical but had a tv, water and towels.
As mentioned in previous reviews, the elevator was pretty slow so we used the stairs the majority of the time (we were only on the 2nd floor) and I could see where room 116 would be noisy as it was sharing a wall with the breakfast prep area. All in all, a great stay for the price if you just need a good place to stay and don't require being by the beach.

Room Tip: Avoid room 116 and if wanting a balcony with a view, that can be requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    89
    30
    9
    18
See reviews for
98
53
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband was in Galveston Texas for business. We always stay at Marriotts when available. This was the Springhill brand, which boasts a larger room with a small refrigerator, microwave and breakfast. This is an older property which means the furniture is worn and the corridor carpets were somewhat stained, HOWEVER, our room was immaculate, the staff was friendly and attentive. The breakfast was incredible. There were two attendants who ran the breakfast shift and they did an excellent job. Great location and the price was right. If you are looking for trendy and upscale this is not the place. If you want a clean room, friendly staff and a great breakfast, this is where you want to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eneiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed two nights (7/5 & 7/6) and we checked out today. Although the hotel says it is smoke free - I really feel that I detected cigarette smoke on the first floor. We were placed in a room by the kitchen. The first morning we were there - we were awoken by the noise from the kitchen (they were preparing for breakfast). Although it was noisy - it was bearable. Come morning two (this morning) at 6:00 a.m. - we were suddenly awoken by an EXCESSIVE amount of noise from the kitchen! We could hear conversation, slamming of drawers, the running of water and banging around here and there. I had to get out of bed to make a call from the living area phone (because the phone that was next to me - would not work for whatever reason). I expressed my concerns to the person at the front desk (unknown whom it was that answered the phone) - person was apologetic and said that he would ask the people in the kitchen to keep it down. Then 6:20 a.m. rolled around and there was still an excessive amount of noise - I made a second trip to the phone in the living area and made another call. Again, person apologized and said he would ask them to keep it down. Noise never ceased! We were in and out of sleep getting exhausted. We had stayed up late the night before and our plans were to sleep in (certainly much later than 6:00 a.m.) - our plans did not include getting awoken abruptly at 6:00 a.m.! I made calls to the front desk (on the phone and in person) and spoke with Ezekiel Lopez about wanting to speak to the general manager (Irene Carrillo). I was told she would be there between 9 a.m. and 9:15 a.m. - that time rolled around and then when I asked to speak to her, I was told she would be in at 10:00 a.m. We had to proceed to check out so that we could head back home. At check out time I asked to be compensated however Ezekiel said that he could not do that and I asked for any other of manager on the property, however, I was told that there was not one on the property! I called this evening around 4:00 p.m.( I was told earlier today that she would be working until 5 or 6 this evening). Again, I could not get in touch with her - I left a message for her - still unable to get in contact with her and no return call as of yet!!! Does ANYONE at this properly care about their customers??!!! Oh on another note - first night when we tried to get settled in (very late) - there was no blanket nor mattress pad for the sofa bed (only sheets and a pillow) we had to wait for those to be delivered before we could get to bed. The AC Vent very close to my head where I was sleeping in the bed was very dirty - it needs to be cleaned! Walls are indeed SUPER THIN! breakfast was average and so was the location. I am going to keep trying to get in contact so that someone can hear my concerns since they apparently do not care to respond to these trip advisor reviews (see other poor reviews). Do not stay in #116 - you will regret it. What blows my mind is that we pretty much always stay in Marriott hotels and we have NEVER had unresolved complaints , etc. If there were any concerns, they were always addressed and there has always been excellent customer service at their other locations.

Room Tip: Check out other hotels before you even think about staying at this one. If you do decide to stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theprietos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

One elevator for 4 floors. I could walk down the stairs and beat the elevator so that is what I did most of the time. Got my exercise in for the day. Furniture was worn compared to the other SpringHill suites I have stayed at before. The breakfast was good. Location great if you have a car. Room had micro and fridge. No complaints but the elevator.

Room Tip: Get with a balcony facing the bay. Make sure you use the side street to get over to 61st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49andholding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Located right off the highway this Marriott hotel welcomes you to Galveston. It is located in the shopping area. Breakfast was pretty good. The pool needed a little cleaning and maintenance-disappointing to the kids but we made up for it since the beach is not that far from the hotel. Staff is friendly. THE ELEVATOR WAS SOOOO SLOW! This hotel is really close to Moody Gardens. Overall, a family friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room located at the end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas_TXTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Rooms were very clean and had recently been redone. Loved having a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The sitting area was comfortable and nicely separated from the bed. Location was not near the sea wall or beaches, but Galveston is small enough that the drive wasn't long. We enjoyed going back to our quiet side of the island at night for a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the bayou. Complimentary breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the water has great views over the bayou towards Moody Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

It's not the nicest hotel, but I didnt expect much. It's close to Moody Gardens. You can watch the fireworks at night right outside the hotel. It's not right by the beach, but it's a quick 20 min drive. Free breakfast is good with hot food. We had a 2.5 year-old and were worried we were making too much noise, but there were a lot of families around with kids. We had a corner room with a living space and mini bar area with microwave and fridge which can be used for extra drinks or snacks you get for the beach. I don't think I would stay here if I didn't have kids, but it was great for what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
3.0 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Property: SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing