We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place If You Don't Mind Being Off Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Place If You Don't Mind Being Off Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very clean, comfortable rooms. With many restaurants and other attractions requiring a drive, found this to be a convenient place to stay. Helpful staff. Great place to stay assuming your main focus is the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holeinone53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    89
    31
    9
    18
See reviews for
99
53
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We usually stay on the Seawall, but this trip we had 5 people, so we needed three beds for two nights. The hotel room was clean, and the pull out sofa was perfect for the kiddos. The room did not have a bathtub, but it was a wheel chair accessible shower. The breakfast was ample for a free continental breakfast. They had Texas shaped waffles, bagels, oatmeal, eggs, yogurt, cereal, muffins, ect. They also provided a minimal happy hour/reception in the evenings. The indoor pool saved us because Galveston experienced a lightening storm and we were sent home from the beach. One thing I wished I had known: Springhill is across the bay from Moody, and on Friday nights in June and July, they do fireworks which can be seen from the Springhill, and which reflect in the water. The front desk associates were kind, and the housekeeping service was efficient. This is a good place for families looking to go to the beach on a budget, and the indoor pool offers a nice insurance policy in the case of rain! It is a ten minute drive from Stewart Beach and the Strand, and five minutes from the first public access beach. It has easy access to I45, which turns into Broadway, a major road on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out over Galveston Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We visit Galveston annually and this year we decided to stay in a hotel off the beachfront. The Springhill Suites is a very clean hotel. Rooms are small and beds are quite hard, not as comfortable as most Marriott properies. The service is accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Moody Gardens facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our family had a good experience with this hotel. It was clean and just a short drive to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I booked this hotel for my husband for his business travel. When he talked to me that night he said it was great. The staff was professional, the lobby was very welcoming and the room was wonderful. Later that night when he text me he said "ahh, the bed is the most comfortable bed i've ever layed on." That is hard for my husband to say, he is very picky about his beds. He said we would be staying there again. He had nothing bad to say and loved his ocean view.

Room Tip: higher floor=good ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallon-Curry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I would highly recommend this property. It is great for families. Good price and value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swttexasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were vacationing on Galveston Island for a week. This was our first visit to the area. We have stayed in Sprinhill Suites before so the familiarity is kind of comforting. Our room was clean and comfortable with a mini fridge, coffee/tea maker and a microwave. There was a separate living room/office area with a desk for your computer. There was free Internet though the speed of the connection varied during the day and night. Beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. As mentioned by other reviewer, the AC unit was rather loud, cycling on and off with annoying regularity.
Breakfast was great with a wide selection of fruit, dry cereal, hot oatmeal (my favourite), yogurt, breads and waffles in the shape of TEXAS. Weekends seemed pretty busy but during the week, it's quite relaxing. During the week the hotel also have a bit of a happy hour between 5-7 when they offer munchies and beer in the lobby area. They didn't seem to mind if you took some of the munchies up to the room with you.
Reception staff was friendly and helpful. We had a great week and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget2958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
3.0 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Property: SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing