We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent the 4th of July here on my points as a Diamond Member. Typical Hampton Inn you've come to expect. No negative remarks other than the folks from Silver Leaf pitching time shares in the lobby during breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank 990seanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    208
    114
    63
    56
See reviews for
356
210
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We paid $179 per night for a wheelchair accessible room over 4th of July weekend and found it to be a fair bargain considering the dates we stayed, the size and cleanliness of the room and the service. When we arrived, our keys and room were ready at 1pm and we only had to sign a single sheet of paper that she already had printed and ready to go. The 3rd floor room had a sizable balcony with chairs and the room smelled and looked clean. The in room fridge was bigger than expected and worked great, unlike many fridges in hotel rooms. The sheets and comforters were clean and with direct tv there were lOts of channels. The breakfast included hot meat, egg, and side dishes which rotated daily. The rest of the items were standard hotel breakfast (waffles cereal baked goods fruit yogurt). Parking was plentiful even on a fully booked weekend. Walking to the seawall was pleasant and we also walked to stores and restaurants. We wanted to stay at theorist gardens hotel, but given the comfort and value of Hampton inn, it would have been a waste of money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethinsanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is great, you can walk right across to the beach. Short drive to Moody Gardens and Pleasure Pier. Room was nice and updated. Free breakfast was very good. Checking in and out was super fast and easy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly, but the hotel as a whole was below Hampton standards. The lobby and elevator weren't clean, the lobby restrooms were filthy, without soap and paper towels. The television in our room didn't work. We reported it but they couldn't fix it in the evening and promised to take care of it the next morning, which they never did. Breakfast is over at 10:00 am, which is early considering Galveston is a vacation resort where people stay out late. The early end to breakfast may explain the mad rush in the breakfast area, which made it virtually impossible to find a place to sit and eat. The pool was adequate, standard hotel size - not resort size, but the maintence building in the pool area generated a lot of noise, which made us less inclined to lounge at the pool. Internet connection in the rooms is intermittent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 13_Dave_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great Place to Stay. Very Clean, Very Comfy Beds. Very helpfull Staff. Close to Everything. Galveston has Great Seafood and Lots of different things to enjoy. Hampton Inn Galveston is a great bet, You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

With price we paid expected cleaner room, balcony view was partial wall and partial view of unloading in front of hotel,breakfast consisted of waffles, scrambled eggs,sausage, cereal and pastries,service was good and beds were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This Hampton Inn just doesn't live up to the standards of the many Hampton Inns I have stayed in. The room was very small and very expensive. It is also more than walking distance to the nice part of the beach. The beach near the Hampton Inn does not get cleaned of the sea weed nor does that part of the beach have chairs and umbrellas to rent. My advice is to stay somewhere else farther up the beach forget the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.5 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Address: 6431 Central City Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#8 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston hotel is right by the Galveston Seawall, Moody Gardens, the beach, and historic sites. The hotel offers a free full hot breakfast every day, free high-speed internet and Wi-Fi, outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Galveston
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing