We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best of the Affordable hotels for pre/post-cruise stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best of the Affordable hotels for pre/post-cruise stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Hampton Inn & Suites on Central City Bvd in Galveston was our 4th attempt at finding an "affordable" hotel for post/pre-cruise stay and it has been the BEST so far. I would be hard pressed to even look at the others because this one was very nice. The room was very large, and liked having huge balcony even if it did overlook the Wal-Mart which is right next door. Good location on side street with easy access to 61st & since I drive around alot, looking at the sights it was nice not to have to get back on Seawall since that road can be a nightmare. The room was super quiet, bed was as comfortable as home, bathroom with separate sink from tub/toilet very nice. Nice to have small fridge, microwave, fold out couch for my teen son. Approx. .5 miles from beach with sidewalk and located next to stop light making it easier to cross Seawall than dodging traffic or walking another .5 miles to nearest corner stop light. Breakfast was good with eggs, sausage, waffles, cereals, coffee 24/7 & a nice place to sit & eat. Decent workout room even if small. Front desk staff were super nice & called us when our room was ready when we arrived way too early for check in after cruise. The rooms facing west could be a bit noisy when balcony door left open as Central City Bvd has a bit of traffic on it but didn't hear a thing once we closed the door due to the steady hum of the air conditioner. There was a damp spot on the carpet directly in front of the balcony door which lent to a bit of a musty odor but didn't bother us enough to complain or ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Western facing rooms could be a bit noisy if balcony door left open. Not a great view of the ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherihm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    169
    86
    43
    45
See reviews for
289
151
19
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. Our room was fantastic - spacious, nicely decorated, and very new. The hotel was spotless and the staff friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better stay from a mid-tier hotel. Another excellent Hampton Inn! Well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shinywings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed there for 4 nights. Everything is clean, in good oreder, staff is nice and helpful, breakfast area is big and convenient with allfacilities working properly. Will definitely return to this place if I come to Galveston again on business or leisure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sandros68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Small room for the price, chair in way at computer desk, had to go sideways to get past. Check-in and out very nice, desk staff very nice. Breakfast was what you would expect at a cheap motel, no staff in breakfast room. This was on my Bucket List, since I have terminal cancer, to stay in a expensive hotel, was very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandhampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service; this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience an improved level of customer service. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As usual, Hampton Inns are consistent in delivering quality rooms and breakfast. This one was a room with king bed and balcony. Bed was comfortable. Room very spacious with desk and couch. Didn't have much time in the morning to enjoy as I had early conference to attend on the island the next morning. The refrigerator and microwave are a great addition when you have extended stay and need food in the room.

Huge aquarium in the lobby is something you won't see at other Hamptons.

To quote another TripAdvisor member, my room also faced the oh-so-scenic Walmart. But it was quiet, and that is what is very important to me.

So once again, given a choice, I will choose Hampton over other hotel chains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danceraddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

-We stayed here 1 night while on a longer trip to Houston. (FYI-about an hour trip to Galveston from Houston)
-The hotel was beautiful & the rooms were very clean, spacious & updated. The bed was very comfortable, & it was nice to have a refrigerator & microwave.
-We enjoyed the outdoor pool, but found it odd they had no towels at the pool.
-The hotel is a short walk to the beach. (And while this has nothing to do with the hotel, we were very unimpressed with the beaches in Galveston.... dirty sand, dirty water...by far the worst beach we've visited.)
-Our room had a nice, spacious balcony that we enjoyed but didn't enjoy looking at a Walmart, so if you're expecting beautiful ocean views you're going to be disappointed.
-Enjoyable continental breakfast.
-The front desk staff were wonderful!! They were all very friendly, helpful & personable!
My husband & I travel a lot -for both business & pleasure, & this was a wonderful hotel unfortunately in a city we did not enjoy so we will probably not be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Epowers8727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

You can't say that there is anything particularly special about this hotel, but it does deliver on what I have found to be fairly consistent, decent quality of Hampton Inn's. We had a very spacious suite, with a large balcony for our stay. It was quiet, even though our room faced the oh-so-scenic Walmart. It is out of the way from the main parts of Galveston, but most everything is only a bike ride away. It is also across the street from the beach (although not technically on Seawall Blvd, might as well be). We had a good experience and would stay there again if we head back. Given that we could have stayed closer to other side of the island, but the prices would have been much higher or the locations would have been ones that did not get good online reviews, it was a decent value. Not overwhelming, but good for the market of other options.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 404 and the faucet on the shower is a little funny in selecting hot vs cold. I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTexan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.5 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Address: 6431 Central City Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#8 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston hotel is right by the Galveston Seawall, Moody Gardens, the beach, and historic sites. The hotel offers a free full hot breakfast every day, free high-speed internet and Wi-Fi, outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Galveston
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing