We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Sunflower Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 14 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Located in the heart of Galveston's historic East End.Featuring fresh Gulf seafood, homemade sandwiches, and the best bakery in town.The Sunflower is everyone's favorite neighborhood cafe.
2 reviews
“Good”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Demaciado bueno good very good ilove the restauran the sunflawer bakery :::::::::::;;:;;:;:;;;__.,,?!!'''""""!?..;;:;,,?,,_?__-?__-__;,,_,;_,;,-,;_;:,???!''#())''?__,;,,;?____;;:?_?#?((#_-;-.,##(

Helpful?
Thank Jesus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    257
    59
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richwood, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have eaten here for Breakfast and lunch over the past 2-3 years and have never been disappointed. Bread pudding French toast is always on the breakfast menu and it is fabulous! Once you eat it, you will have a hard time selecting anything else when you return.
They have weekend breakfast specials and offer mimosas with breakfast on Sat and Sun.
Don't forget to stop by their bakery before you leave and pick up a treat to take for later.
There is also a small gift/antique store attached which is worth a look.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Completly packed with Locals”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Excellent salads, sandwiches, and even though we had to wait on a busy Monday lunch rush, the service was great! I would definitely go back, and highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I've been here at least four times now. Every time has been excellent. You can tell they care about the food quality and service.

It can get crowded, so you can probably expect some type of wait time, depending on when you are there.

They have a brunch menu on Sundays, but I just can't pass up the excellent breakfast items. I had a belgian waffle with eggs and sausage. The waffle was delicious. The eggs were cooked perfectly over medium as I asked.. the sausage was probably the best breakfast sausage I've ever had...

When you are done eating, head on over to the bakery area and pick up some cookies or pastries... everything I've tried has been very good to great.

Easily on of the best breakfast spots I've ever had and the lunch and dinner plates are also very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superbford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, TX
Level Contributor
187 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We shared a family dinner here on a Saturday night. With two small children and no reservation, we opted to sit in the second floor dining area. It was a good choice for us, a bit more casual. The wait staff was incredibly attentive, especially since they had to exit the building and climb stairs to reach the 2nd floor dining room.

They have specials for lunch and dinner, but the regular menu items are always good. I like their flavored tea options.

The dining room is small and tight. Their bathrooms open to the dining room.

The food though is very good and we have eaten there on several trips to Galveston.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Sunflower Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing