We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunflower Bakery and Cafe

Sunflower Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 14 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of Galveston's historic East End.Featuring fresh Gulf seafood, homemade sandwiches, and the best bakery in town.The Sunflower is everyone's favorite neighborhood cafe.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Love the bakery items (scones are lovely). The lunch specials are usually tasty. I eT here several times a month. Almost always excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drcscruggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    240
    57
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local Hangout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had dinner last nite at Sunflower. I had the pan seared Grouper and my husband had the Shrimp and Poblano Grits. We also had their famous tomato basil soup. All of it was very good. The bread pudding that was included in the Dinner Special that nite came in the form of a slice with ice cream. Very tasty. However, they also have loads of baked treats that you could opt for (additional cost). Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Try the crab cake eggs benedict”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

6 of the family members ate here on TripAdvisors recommendation and where there is usually complaints about the food-everyone enjoyed their meal with no complaints. It was the best breakfast I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Try the crab cakes benedict-seems strange-best this person has ever tasted and let's just say I've been around awhile. It's not a ritzy or romantic spot for sure and the acoustics aren't perfect but they've got breakfast down. Wish we lived closer so could check it out for other meals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chickenwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The breakfast we had was wonderful; however, the service was slow for the amount of customers. Will have to go back on the weekend to try the waffles. I hear they are great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasBlueBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lump crab eggs Benedict!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have been including the Sunflower Bakery in every trip to Galveston for many years. The food is delicious - sometimes we get sandwiches to take to the beach or delicious sweets from the bakery. They have a wonderful brunch on weekends that includes lump crab eggs Benedict - yum and challa French toast which is amazing as well. You won't be sorry you stopped there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl77546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Sunflower Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing