We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch and Breakfast!”

Sunflower Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 14 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Located in the heart of Galveston's historic East End.Featuring fresh Gulf seafood, homemade sandwiches, and the best bakery in town.The Sunflower is everyone's favorite neighborhood cafe.
Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch and Breakfast!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great place to gather for breakfast or lunch. The bakery is full of delicious goodies, but this is a sit-down restaurant as well. The staff is friendly and attentive, and the menu is full of unique items. I've been here numerous times and have never had anything other than an outstanding meal. We love sitting outside on the patio when the Texas heat permits.

I highly recommend this cafe. It's quaint and delicious. Don't miss it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasYorkielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    257
    59
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our last stop before driving back home was breakfast/brunch at Sunflower, the menu has many choices and the food was excellent. We sat on the patio and the service was good, my wife and her sister complained the coffee was weaker than they prefer, but everything else was above average.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dinner was so good, we had breakfast there, too”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife & I decided to try the Sunflower Bakery & Café in Galveston based on other TA reviews. We first had dinner there which was very good. My wife had the crab cakes which were loaded with crabmeat & cooked to perfection. I had the fried shrimp & crab cake dish which was fried just right & was more than enough food. The service was first rate. We sat in the outside patio area & the atmosphere was relaxed & very pleasant. Dinner was so good, we decided to have breakfast there the following morning. It, too, was very fresh & tasteful food. My wife had a Belgian waffle which was so large she could not eat the entire waffle. I had the Little Breakfast consisting of eggs, sausage & toast. It is hard to make eggs & sausage a "break out" dish, but it was very satisfying.
Service was very attentive & we enjoyed both meals. Fun place to go when in Galveston.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonDog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Bakery”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We go like 4 times a month, I like the bakery items, like the blueberries muffins , short bread cookies,etc. I like the salmon salad, the pork chops. I always have great service, and the atmosphere is very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great recommendation from our daughter”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We went for breakfast while on vacation. The omelet and French toast were delicious. Our only complaint was the service was slow but we were on vacation so we weren't terribly bothered by it and we would return again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shyde81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Sunflower Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing