We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast anywhere. Eggs Benedict, French Toast, Ham and Eggs. We were all extremely pleased. Delicious food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunflower Bakery and Cafe

Sunflower Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 14 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of Galveston's historic East End.Featuring fresh Gulf seafood, homemade sandwiches, and the best bakery in town.The Sunflower is everyone's favorite neighborhood cafe.
Mesquite, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast anywhere. Eggs Benedict, French Toast, Ham and Eggs. We were all extremely pleased. Delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

There was a fly that wouldn't leave us alone. Shelly was an awesome waitress...couldn't catch the fly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    240
    57
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, lacking ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Food was pretty good but ambiance needs help. Coffee not good. Service was decent. Didn't try bakery items. Not planning to go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenniferfaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appealing food & tempting bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We've been to Sunflower twice and plan to return. It's not a fancy place at all, but it's kind of like home-style food, but dressed up a little bit. They have big breakfasts, and good lunches, although there's not a lot of food on the lunch plate compared to some restaurants. We try to eat healthy, so that's fine with us. We recently had the Salmon with lemon butter sauce and the Chicken dish on Corn cakes with a mixture of ingredients tossed on top, such as guacamole, cheese, etc. There is only one corn cake, despite the plural on menu, and it is very thin. We shared our dishes, and both were really good. We split a piece of chocolate covered pecan pie, which wasn't as rich as I had imagined, and our bill came to about $30, so prices are very reasonable for the quality of food. I've also had their chicken salad sandwich, which comes with fruit on side, and it was good also. It would be nicer if the noise level could be reduced some, and it's quieter on the patio, if weather allows. The locals recommend this, as well as the Mosquito Cafe, down the block, which we also tried and liked, but I would give the Sunflower the thumbs up if you have to choose. It has a larger variety of food, and I had chicken salad sandwiches at both, and Sunflower's was better. You also have to stand in line to order at The Mosquito, but you have to stand in line to be seated at Sunflower. They're both popular.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We found this place thanks to yelp! We were looking for something that locals would go to and we found it, wonderful breakfast fresh and delicious. The eggs were cooked exactly as each of us requested and the waffles were superb!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
129 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Grouper ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have been coming here mainly for breakfast for several years. Overall the quality has been excellent with only a couple of misses. The chef has a deft touch with seafood and therefore their seafood specials are usually a safe bet. However a few days ago, I had their grilled Grouper lunch special that compelled me to write this review. It was simply the best Grouper I have ever tasted (and I am from Florida) Lightly seasoned and grilled to perfection, this generous portion had that firm flaky delicate quality that screams fresh. The al dente vegetables and creamed potatoes were the perfect pairing. Often noisy, the general ambience is very nice with a pleasant outdoor patio for those days when Galveston climate allows. A favorite with the medical school staff, Island residents and tourists make this a very busy place and parking can be a problem. But it is worth the time to find a spot and even wait in a short line. It is that good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Sunflower Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing