We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water park Visit”

Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark
Ranked #12 of 103 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Planned the visit during the week to avoid the weekend crowds. If you can do this you'll help minimize the crowds. Purchased and printed tickets at home to save a little on the ticket price. Still have to wait in line at the park to exchange the tickets for the wrist bands.

Navigational signs within the park could be better. Upon entry unknown what direction to go for lockers, etc. There are some directional signs in the park but even those are kind of hidden and sometimes not faced correctly.

Texas sun bakes everything and that includes the pavement at the park. Would highly recommend brining water shoes. Your feet will burn on the walk ways that are pavement and the steps with the black edges on them. There were a couple of areas that had a little mist spraying on the walkway. Even one of these was in need of repair.

Lunch time came around and decided to eat there at the park. Had to wait 15 minutes while the park troubleshooted the register. Only had one register at the location to take orders. Disappointing there's not a back-up plan in place.

Otherwise it was an enjoyable experience.

Thank 12Travelagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schlitterbahn W, Public Relations Manager at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hello! Thanks for visiting. We're glad you enjoyed your day.

Yes, all of our guests must check in to obtain an admission wristband prior to entering the park, whether they buy a ticket at the gate or in advance. The main benefit of buying a ticket in advance is the discount you receive. Our online ticket prices are $3 less per person than the gate price, which adds up quickly with families.

We also have special Prepaid Ticket Windows where guests with pre-purchased tickets may exchange their tickets for admission wristbands without waiting behind guests who are buying tickets at the gate. This line moves extremely fast since there are no transactions being made.

We've heard other guests mention the need for directional signs for lockers, and we are currently producing these and will have them in the park within the days to come. Thanks for the suggestion!

We really work hard to keep many of the walkways cool with mist so they are more comfortable on which to walk. We suggest taking advantage of our signature Transportainment River System to float throughout the entire park. We have more than a mile of interconnected rivers, and you can exit the water when you want to enjoy a nearby attraction, then hop back in the water and continue your journey to the next area. Water shoes are also a great alternative when you do have to walk.

Sorry for the delay due to a register issue. Our IT team is constantly monitoring our systems and it is a rare occurrence that there is down time, but as with any technology, it can happen from time to time.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 462 of 774 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We have been here many times. The water always looks clean. There are several play areas for the kids. Life vests are supplied for the kids, which is great, and there is not an extra charge for the tubes. Bringing a picnic lunch into the park is encouraged. The only thing I do not like is that the abandoned tubes are left in the water and clog up the waterways. I have never seen any employees try to clear any of them out and the tubes are a mess, especially toward the end of the day.

Thank sandyharrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schlitterbahn W, Public Relations Manager at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Hello and thanks for being a fan of Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark.

We are glad that you like the park and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We took our three boys and had a blast. We have a 3,7,& 12 year old. The three year old has no fear and was able to ride with my husband or I on most of the slides. The fact that we were able to bring in our own cooler made the price easier to swallow. We would of had to spend a lot more money on food and drinks if we were not able to take our own.

Thank Jennifer Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schlitterbahn W, Public Relations Manager at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Hello!

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your day!

Yes, you can bring your own food and drinks into the park, with the exception of glass, alcohol and open containers. This is an amenity that is unique to Schlitterbahn parks. Other money-saving amenities are free parking and free use of tubes and life jackets. So you can literally just pay for your admission and not spend another penny once you enter the park...that is if you are strong enough to pass a Dippin' Dots stand without stopping.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We took our kids and grandkids here for family day with overnight stay at local hotel. Everyone had a blast. One part of it made me nervous, the part where there are two slow river type things that feed into a bigger area with huge waves. There is a lot of people in this area and can get quite hectic with little ones. Didn't seem like life guards were paying to much attention. All in all, the trip was good. The place was clean, staff for the most part was great. Would definitely go back again.

Thank ldyblu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schlitterbahn W, Public Relations Manager at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thanks for visiting! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your day.

Yes, one of our unique attributes is our river system which allows you to float throughout the entire park without ever leaving the water. You may float through calm currents, whitewater rapids and tidal waves. We try to warn our guest of the more active areas with signs placed along the rivers before they get there, but it's pretty exciting to be playing in the park, so sometimes the signs go unnoticed. However, be assured that our life guards go through a strict training by Ellis & Associates and are constantly monitoring all areas.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Note that it seems when attendance is low large portions of the park are closed. Understandable to make sure they are making a profit, but if there are specific rides you want to do it might be disappointing to some in your group.

Also - not sure if it is permanent or not but the BBQ place was closed - leaving nothing but junky concession type food. Luckily with the wristband you can leave and return. Less than 30min round-trip to Whataburger and lunch was solved.

Nothing really special about this park as opposed to the fantastic one in New Braunfels, but if you need something else to do in Galveston it's worth one trip.

2  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schlitterbahn W, Public Relations Manager at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Hello,

Thanks for spending your day at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark.

During certain times of the year before school lets out, we are open for Surf & Save Days at the park. This means that the Surfenburg and Wasserfest sections are open and the Blastenhoff section is closed. This is always advertised on our online operating schedule and on signs before you enter the park. The admission price is actually less on these days as well. We apologize if there was any confusion.

We also had the Cliffhanger slides closed on certain days in April, May and early June as we put the finishing touches on our new thrill ride for this summer, Screaming Serpents. We are pleased to say that construction is complete and both rides are open every day now.

Yes, the BBQ Haus is open! On days when there are fewer guests in the park, we may choose to open fewer food stands because we do not have as many guests to service as on a more popular day. BBQ Haus was closed for this reason on certain days during our spring season. Like you, I'm the kind of person who likes to eat park food too, but our guests also have the option to bring their own picnics inside the park, which is not common at other waterparks around the world.

I hope this information helps to clear things up, but please let me know if you have additional concerns. You can always reach me at galvestonfun@schlitterbahn.com.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing