We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Great Price for the location. Had an ocean view from the balcony. Room was pretty standard, but was clean and perfectly fine for a long weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    288
    133
    35
    21
See reviews for
305
256
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed here one night at a rate of 50$. The room was lovely and spacious with a fridge and balcony. The east side does have a lovely view of the Gulf. Staff were friendly, everything was clean, AC worked well. The elevators were horribly slow but that was the only negative. I liked the outside shower on the ground floor for washing off sand. Nice little indoor pool and fitness room. Good free parking. We had a little difficulty finding the hotel as it is set back from Sea wall blvd and you really go through the parking lot of the Best Western next door to get to it. I have stayed in a lot of places along seawall blvd and am always looking for a good deal....This is the best of the lot!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

The hotel overall is clean, nice, modern. I have stayed here several times before and liked it. However, this time the hotel had quite a large number of crickets in the lobby, halls, and parking lot. During breakfast, crickets were walking around the breakfast room. I stayed on the fifth (top floor) and several crickets got into the room under the balcony door. I'm not a fan of crickets, so I probably will not stay at this hotel again (at least not during this time of the year).

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

After going though a nightmare with Econo Lodge Hotel... We booked in this nice hotel. We got a room with a wonderful view, confortable beds and nice and polite service. We will definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELER0140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, quick check in, great location on the seawall.

Mattresses were a little too firm for us and their elevators could use new carpet. But overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oncefamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

I read the reviews on this site for various Galveston hotels and decided to book the Quality Inn based on the reviews (rated #6 at the time) and the discounted rate we received (which was still a lot higher than some of the reviewers had paid). I think a lot of reviewers rated this property highly because they received free upgrades, had rooms on the more scenic east side and/or paid a lot less for their room than we did. Based on our one-night stay in a standard room on the west side of the building, I cannot rate the Quality Inn any higher than "average".
We spent the week visiting relatives in Texas and decided to end the trip with a day at the beach before flying out of Houston Hobby. (Since Hobby Airport is only about 45 minutes from Galveston and our flight did not leave until 5pm on a Saturday, this was a feasible option for us.)
Check-in was easy and we had a room on the west side of the building. While it was nice having a balcony, it was not-so-nice to have that balcony overlooking construction of the McDonald's next door. Fortunately, since we arrived late Friday afternoon and departed the hotel Saturday morning, construction sounds were not a problem, but I can imagine they would be during the weekdays.
The room was a standard room with two queen beds, a TV, minifridge and microwave oven. The minifridge worked well and kept our drinks cool for our following day at the beach. The bathroom was also standard with a tub/shower combo. The room was neat, clean and tidy upon our arrival. The AC kept the room very cool, but it was also very loud and I woke up more than once when it would cut off and then cut back on just a few seconds later.
There was a small sitting area in the lobby with a computer and printer available for use by the guests. I appreciated having this to check-in for our flight and print boarding passes. The rest of the lobby was the breakfast area--tables, chairs and serving area.
The free breakfast consisted of standard fare--muffins, bagels, bread for toast, cereal, juice, coffee, etc and it was well-stocked even at the end of the breakfast time. There were 3 waffle irons for "make your own" Texas-shaped waffles and who could resist that? I appreciated the signs in the breakfast area reminding parents that they were responsible for supervising their children during breakfast. That did not seem to be a problem when we were eating, but I have been in too many hotels where it has been.
The indoor pool is on the ground floor by the parking area and I only discovered it upon our departure. It was a small rectangular pool and is probably popular on rainy days, but it was not particularly inviting to me.
The hotel is located across Seawall Blvd from the beach and there is a traffic light at the corner which makes crossing this busy road safe. There is virtually no beach left to the west of 61st Street, so we spent Friday evening walking east along the beach. I was so disappointed to see how much dead seaweed was on the beach, giving it a dirty, untidy look. Also, we were there at high tide and the tide covered a good portion of the beach narrowing it considerably. While the beach is close to the hotel, it's certainly not the nicest of the Galveston beaches.
In front of the hotel is a Tortugas Mexican restaurant. We were having a late dinner on Friday and decided just to walk over to Tortugas. The restaurant was busy, but we got a table right away and the food was excellent.
I would only recommend this hotel if you got an excellent rate and had a car to drive to a more desirable beach area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longhorn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

Just got back from a five night stay with daughter and two young Grandsons. Hotel and rooms very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was great and gave the kids something to do out of the sun. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#13 Family Hotel in Galveston
#13 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing