We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice staff and location”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel with a great location! We've stayed here before and my only complaint is they took out the hot tub and it's still advertised on hotels.com & Orbitz as having a hot tub! The management needs to contact these second party booking sites and update their information! That said we had a pleasant stay! If having a hot tub is important to you don't stay here, otherwise I would recommend this hotel, for its excellent location and helpful staff!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank melodiepenrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. It is a shame that the third part websites are so difficult to work with. They are required to pull their information from our own Choice Hotels website, and they don't do it properly. We removed the hot tub from our website back in August 2013, and ever since we have tried to get these sites to fix this issue, but this is the old "you are small & we are big, and we will do what we want" situation. For future information, these third party sites give you the same rate you would have gotten straight from the hotel, because that's where they get them, and then they take a percentage out and send us the rest. As you found out from their false information, they can not be trusted to always have the most current information, so it is always better to call us or book through Choice directly. If you do decide to continue to use these sites, it is never a bad idea to call the hotel after booking to verify that everything is, as they show it. I am sorry you had this problem, we hate to see unhappy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    293
    137
    35
    21
See reviews for
316
262
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Was unable to check into our other hotel May 4, 2014 because of down reserv sys. Very frustrated and walked next door to the QI and the reservation clerk, Aneta, was extremely helpful and had that "can do" attitude you just don't see very often. Galveston was absolutely PACKED with people so most places were booked full. Aneta not only was able to get us a room but had a very competitive price with our failed hotel. Room was very nice and quiet.
A/C didn't work very well and when checking out the next morning I mentioned this and the desk clerk was not only very concerned, she gave us a small discount.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for sending in this review. It is always nice to hear from our guests, and doubly so when they had a good stay. We really appreciate your staying with us, we know you have lots of options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

On May 4th, we were booked at Red Roof Inn, after three hours and three times trying to check in, we went next door to find a fabulous front desk person, Aneta was so helpful, she booked us in two rooms next door to on another and we were in a room in five minutes!
I visit Galveston about every two months to fish and the pier is across the street!
Thank you Quality Inn for providing a nice pre cruise hotel ! A/C was not cooling as well as we liked, we told them at check out just so maintenance would know and they deducted $20 off room.
Customer service!!!

Room Tip: Request floor #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richmond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We really appreciate your nice comments, and I am happy to see our staff took care of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

TO be honest, had I been able to write the review Friday night, Saturday morning.. It would have been a very positive review. VERY happy review. But, at this point I am livid. I booked the room with a debit card. Upon booking I made it very clear I would be paying with cash upon arrival. When we arrived, again I made mention that I was paying cash. I did, $195.45. I was advised we needed to put a card for incidentals in the event we should have any. We did. Once we checked out on Saturday we proceeded with our day only to realize we had no money. We had only left the money we could spend on that card. WE couldn’t continue on with our plans. One day away may not be a lot to some people, but it was huge for us. BUT, with no access to any more money, we were forced to leave. I called the hotel and was told it was ran because we arrived after 4pm.. But, it would be released in a few days! UGH........WHY THE HECK WASNT I TOLD THAT upon check in? I would have kept the cash instead. BEING on a budget shouldn’t cause people to miss a great time.
I work at a large company with many, many co-workers that visit Galveston often.. I can say, I will not be giving any positive feedback now. Really upsets me that I bragged all over social media regarding the facility before I was aware of this!
Oh, and we are getting married in Galveston soon... really was excited about booking again there, but NOPE!
Signed, disappointed newly engaged couple
The Stephens

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I am sorry you had a debit card issue. When a guaranteed reservation is made, the reservation is sent to the hotel with only the last (4) digits of the credit card and the type of card, it does not make a distinction between a debit card or a regular credit card, so only the cardholder knows what type of card it is. A card is necessary for reservations, because it is the only way to ensure we aren't turning away other guests to hold a room for someone who may never show up or call to cancel without it, and lose money. All hotels need to take guaranteed reservations seriously, because if you show up for a guaranteed reservation and we don't have the room, we then need to find you a room elsewhere, pay for that room, pay for (2) phone calls...one to your home, and one to your business to let them know you aren't at the same hotel, and pay for transportation to the other hotel. So the hotel in turn has the right to make sure that credit card we were given for the room will bear the charges if a guest doesn't show up and we hold the room all night. So we get an authorization for the first night's room & tax before a guest ever comes to the hotel, usually within 24 hours of arrival. For us, it is just an authorization, and nothing is actually charged until check-out, but for a guest with a debit card, the bank treats authorizations as an actual check written, and takes the money from your account. When you came to check-in, they had no way to release the authorization until check-out, and since we never see the card when you pay cash, we don't know it is a debit card. We release the authorization immediately when you paid cash, but for whatever bank reason, they take 3-5 days to put it back in your account. This policy has nothing to do with the hotel, and it is beyond our control. This is true of ALL hotels. I am very sorry you got caught in this web, and that it affected your trip, but this is not an unprofessional, unethical or unusual practice in our industry. I am sorry this messed up an otherwise great stay. Best Regards, James Marx, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here on Easter weekend. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. I had messed up our reservation when I made them and they corrected my mistake and gave me a. Great room with a nice view. I was extremely pleased with the staff and our room. Only negative was the breakfast, it was your standard LIGHT breakfast, nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor or above so that you have a view of the ocean. I prefer the East s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for staying here. We are always changing the breakfast, and exploring new options, and we appreciate the feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I admit I am a hotel impossible fan so I really check places for cleanliness. This hotel was really nice. Room was big, very clean. Staff was friendly, check in prompt. Location was good. Literally 2 minute walk through the hotel next doors parking lot to a beautiful Kroger grocery with a Starbucks that opened at 6am . My only ding would be- no outdoor pool or seating area. Indoor pool under the building in the garage. We had some nice evenings and it would have been nice to sit by a pool. The posted photos by reviewer actually show the pool from the Red Roof Inn next door. The other thing was very strange small pillows on the bed. Every time I turned over my head was off the pillow. Interrupted my sleep both nights. Other than that absolutely no complaints.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I appreciate the kind comments, and I apologize my staff didn't mention that we have an agreement with the property next door for the guests to use their outdoor pool, as well as our indoor pool...it is the best of both worlds. I will look into the pillows, maybe I can make a change. Best regards, James Marx, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voghera, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed in March for 3 nights. Everyone on the staff was friendly.
We had a top-floor room. The room was big and there was a balcony with great view as well.
Standard continental breakfast. Free parking. Really good price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonny3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#13 Business Hotel in Galveston
#13 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing