We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great bargin hotel near the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great bargin hotel near the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located across the street from the public beach and located near a number of great restaurants. The hotel negatives....slowest elevator ever...can wait up to 3 minutes so get a room on the lower floors so that you can take the stairs. The morning breakfast is fair at best...you may want to consider going somewhere else because the breakfast options are limited. Yes...this hotel has no place to sun bath next to the pool because the pool is indoor. If you are looking for place next to the beach and a good price, this is your place!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CincinnatiDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    264
    122
    34
    21
See reviews for
271
234
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We chose this location based on other TA reviews, price, and location. What a gem. We asked for an odd number room so that we had view of the ocean and the sunrise. The room was clean, we had none of the musty smells that others have reported, the room was typically appointed for a Choice Hotel, check in was efficient, check out was the same. The bedding at Choice hotels is some of the best and their mattresses are awesome. Their pillows are the worst in the industry.

We only spent one night, but if ever in Galveston again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed in this Hotel many times and love it. We loved the suite the best. Once we stayed there and had a car accident on the sea wall and had to stay another night, they helped us out on the price a little. It is in a great location and the breakfast is good. I would love to stay there again on my next visit to Galveston. The Tortuga resturarant is great too. I wish they would give me a discount, i love it there. Steve

Room Tip: Only bad thing is that the elevator is small. All rooms are good, but like the ones with an ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed one night post cruise. It was just "ok". It is definitely dated & wasn't clean around the edges. The window to the balcony & the balcony were very dirty. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast buffet in the morning adequate. The front desk staff was friendly, but had no knowledge about bus transportation. There is a bus that will take you down to "The Strand" for a dollar each way. The locals were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda4215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to share your comments. We will use your comments to improve our service to our guests. We apologize that the windows weren't clean in your room. Sometimes it is difficult to keep the windows as clean as we would like due to the typical windy conditions at the beach and the salty air coming off the water. But we will definitely try harder! Best Regards, James Marx, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful in finding local attractions. The room was cute. Nice tv, had a fridge and microwave and the shower was nice. Bed was comfortable, but the best part was the balcony with the view. Although it's on the side of the building, it's still a great view. Parking was simple and it was just a few steps from the beach. Loved it here and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Double check to make sure your room isn't by the elevator as it can be a little annoying
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BroncosMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in May, for 3 nights, and it's one of the first times I haven't had a problem with a hotel in Galveston. We were scheduled for just 2 but decide to stay an extra night and they switched it, no problem. We didn't have to switch rooms or anything. The front desk staff was friendly, and helpful, and the hot complimentary breakfast in the morning was nice. (We really liked the muffins, lol) also, the room was cleaned daily, and beds made. The location is right next to 61st street and the seawall and if you know galveston, you know this is Great because its right by a lot of stores and food options. It's walking distance to Starbucks (about 5 minutes) and Wal mart, even (about 10) the balcony offered a great view of the water, and a nice place to relax. Also the area of beach right across the seawall is a good one. We will be returning there on out future trips!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CemiAutomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Reno, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We decided to stay at the Quality Inn because it was somewhat cheaper than the other hotels in area. The hotel itself is pretty old and worn down, but they do keep it very clean. The workers were so very helpful and friendly. We first reserved the king suite with pull out couch as there were four of us staying. That night when we went to fix the couch, the mattress was very old and worn down. The metal bars were poking through. We called down to the desk and they had us transferred to another room, no complaining etc.

It is very doubtful I would stay here again just because I want something more modern and updated, but again I can't say enough about how helpful the workers were to us.

Also great location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#13 Family Hotel in Galveston
#13 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing