We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad!! good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
PLANO
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not that bad!! good value”
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We just returned from a weekend in galveston we stay at quality inn and i would say its an ok hotel considering all bad reviews i read before going. I was afraid because the bad reviews but it worth it was clean restrooms clean nice view with small balcony. was in a good location everything was close, stores, restaurants, beach etc. What I learned is that all hotels are across seawall st. so when you see front beach hotel they are not actually on the beach like I though the only place actually on the beach are Scape Condos. the only thing about the hotel is that the rooms are small so if you planning to visit its the only thing we rented a suite and it was small. but ok.

  • Liked — value, clean, location
  • Disliked — room space small
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robles0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    293
    139
    37
    22
See reviews for
321
263
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We just returned from a last minute weekend at this motel and have to say that we were pleasantly surprised!

Our room was clean, tidy, and had a nicely remodeled bathroom--although it (the room--a single smoking room w/ 2 queen beds) was on the smallish side. It even had a cute little balcony with plastic chairs and a side table, which was nice for relaxing.

It was supposed to be a "gulf view", but since we were in the middle of the 3rd floor, it was only a "gulf view" if you leaned waaaaaaaay over the balcony rail or smashed your face into the balcony window--lol! Next time, I would go for a "suite" on the top (5th) floor for more space and a better view, but, since I literally booked the room on the same day as our arrival, I had to take what I could get! :)

Like I said above, the bathroom seemed pretty newly updated and was nice, although it could have used a better/updated shower head and better water pressure.

The motel is located almost directly across the street from the sea wall/beach and a fishing pier (a quick and easy walk) with restaurants and fast food places all very near (within easy walking and driving distance). We also got a mini-fridge/microwave combo in our room, so it was nice to store snacks and sodas from home in there for later.

The motel also features an indoor, heated pool and hot tub, which was a nice alternative, BUT...... the pool area and the pool itself and hot tub both looked a little grungy---I think due to very high usage that weekend, though, because of the poor beach weather outside (it rained off and on and was a little chilly and windy outside all weekend). The hot tub was sooo cloudy that I refused to get into it. Ugh! :S

We also got the complimentary "continental breakfast" both mornings which was a little crowded, but decent enough and saved us money on breakfast. It had more options than the usual "continental breakfast" fare of cold pastries and juice/coffee--this one actually had make-your-own waffles, hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, pastries, etc.---a pretty good assortment and variety.

The parking was free and easy to use and we felt okay and safe about leaving our car outside the motel.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and we will definitely be staying here again and will bring the kids along next time!

  • Liked — Location, value, indoor pool/hot tub nice for bad weather days
  • Disliked — Basic room is a little small, pool area could be a great w/a little more upkeep!, updated shower head/water pressure, please
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getwiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We stayed two nights at this hotel to attend a wedding in town. We wanted to save a little money as the rest of our friends stayed at the Galvez, so this may not be a fair comparison. We paid about $90/night vs the Galvez, $160/night. The room at the Quality Suites was spacious, but the carpet was dingy and there was a definite musty smell. The linens are what you'd expect, but we did have decent television and hot water. We didn't get a chance to try the breakfast, but overall, I'm not sure if I'd stay here again. I'd pay a little more to get a place that feels cleaner.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — slow elevator
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mla6603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We had read some of the negative reviews about ths hotel, but find all of them to be unfounded!!
We arrived at 1.30, checked in to a great, clean and spacious room. Balcony had a view of beach and the bed was suberb!

Great location, restaurants close by. This is an older hotel but is well maintained! The breakfast was very enjoyable but the room is VERY warm!!

We would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Liked — Location, clean
  • Disliked — parking is an adventure
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarboroughuk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

arrived by cruise ship (rci) for four nights, great hotel for the price,would stay again. a littlebit out of town, but very helpful staff for ringing cabs.moody gardens a must, as is the strand area.tortuga good place to eat, right on the doorstep. overall very enjoyable. unlike the flight and train journey home 20hrs. still can't have everything

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Disliked — a little bit out of town
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y0rkshirepudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Quite acceptable room and facility. Pleasant staff. Typical breakfast (with waffles) in nice breakfast area that was large enough to accomodate what must have been a pretty full house. Room soundproofing left something to be desired, got some noise from outside and next room but no major problems with it either. Although that did cause me to notice I couldn't put the heat/ac unit on continuous fan - whether its not possible or I just couldn't figure it out I don't know.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abilene, texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2007

I had to have several rooms for a wedding and booked this hotel because of the price. I had read some of the reviews on this site and was a little worried, but I put my trust in God and I am so glad I did. The service there was great. To dispute some of the things listed on this site, they do have have a great breakfast, 2 waffle irons, fruit, yogurts, a good selection of cereal and danishes. We had 12 children we had to feed and they were all very well fed. Also the front desk was quick to take care of any problem we had. The beach is just short walk across the street, which we traversed everytime we were in the hotel for above kids. The elevator is a little slow but it is a big hotel and there is more than one to catch.. One on each end of the hall plus one to the lobby. The rooms were a very good size and every room had a great view. We will definitly be staying here again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — not sure
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mstain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#13 Family Hotel in Galveston
#13 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing