We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of Sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I go to Galveston twice a year at least and we have tried most all the hotel/motels there. When we tried this one we were blown away by the service, the staff, the free breakfast (to die for),the room and everything else. The first time was in Feb. and it was cold but the indoor pool was sooooo nice. Our room (#520) was the best. Great view from two windows and the balcony. So when we went back this time we decided to stay here again and again it was through the roof in every way. Your staff are so friendly from the second you walk in the door. They greet you like you are old friends and it just makes you feel great. This time we had room 318 and still the view from the balcony was wonderful. We have decided to make this our place to stay from now on. Thanks for everything. Rick and Martha Messinger

Room Tip: Just stay here. You can not go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    264
    122
    34
    21
See reviews for
271
234
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed there this past Thursday and I was surprised that it was better than I expected. I did not like the parking lot but at least it was free to park. The bed was comfortable, though it seemed to be too much furniture in the room. The house cleaning could be better because it seems that every towel that I picked up had a piece of hair on it. The view from the balcony made up for all that I did not like. The breakfast area is nice and it included basics such as cereal, juice, sausage, and coffee. Overall, I would probably stay here again, especially since the hotel offers good prices for the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I liked this hotel. It was in a great location, right across the road from the beach. The rooms were nice. I especially like the fact there was a fridge (also a microwave). I thought parking would be tough but it was fine. I didn't get a chance to use the indoor pool and the exercise room seemed small. There was protein and some fruit on the breakfast. I used the laundry $1 for washer and $1 for dryer. It seemed really expensive tho, because of the event happening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Added a night in Galveston to a Houston convention week. Selected this inn on price and location. It iadvertizes itself as the best Seawall value and to my knowledge it is indeed a value. Inn is on the seawall and views from the small decks off of each room are great over looking Gulf and Galveston Seawall. Room was typical quality for this level of hotel with some signs of use and expected beachfront salt water corrosion in spots. Very convenient just off of end of I-45 thoroughfare to Houston. It is walking distance from several good restaurants, shops and a great place to base a Galveston visit.

Staff is very freindly and helpful. Seemed more like a residence type environment than a hotel. People seemed very comfortable with the place. Hotel seemed to be a favorite for both economy minded business people (evident in the morning as business dressed people left early) and older people using this as an extended stay base for an escape from northern weather. Enjoyed a brief chat with some of those folks lounging outside near the laundry and pool. Breakfast was above average for this type of accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room near the front for a fantastic view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancCabernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel over the biker weekend. The hotel was in a good location away from the downtown area, but easy access from the freeway and near many resturants and shopping areas. The beach across the street was poor at best. I understand that the hurricane from a few years ago did a number on the beach. The rooms were simple and clean. Breakfast area was clean. The real plus to this hotel is the staff. Melanie was outstanding. She did everything. Everybody from the front desk, to housekeeping were very helpful and pleasant. I would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel lacks amenities but, for the price, it was a great stay. The staff was very helpful, friendly and courteous. Our room was clean and comfortable as was the breakfast area. However, the hallways and elevator could be cleaner and the elevators were noisy and old. I used the stairs but being on the 5th floor, we used the elevator at times (luggage and bikes to room). The location is convenient to the seawall and 61st Street Pier. We had a nice view of the Gulf from our room. I would stay here again, but only for a bargain price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here in room #111 October 18, 2012. I booked this hotel partly for the price ($57 on a Thursday), but also because I like to watch the sunrise over the Gulf in the morning. This hotel is not "on the beach". It is behind Tortuga restaurant's parking lot, well off the seawall. The "partial Gulf view" is shown on the photo attached. If you sit in the very corner of the balcony, you can just make out the water. King rooms are only on the first floor, so if you want a better vantage point, you must book a double bed room. The hotel itself is very clean, and the staff very friendly. The bed, however, made for a long night and a backache in the morning. Another caveat; this area is heavily travelled by the Island's colorful homeless population, so be prepared to deal with panhandlers on the seawall if catching the sunrise. When I initially parked my car in the lot behind the hotel, I stepped out into a pile of glass where someone had broken out a car window. Not comforting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltwaterTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I am glad you posted a review, by doing so you give us our most useful way to improve...from hearing what actual guests feel about the property. However, I would like to clarify a couple of items: 1) No hotel in Galveston is on the beach, and we make no claims that we are, 2) we have rooms with king beds throughout the property, though there may not have been any available on the day you checked in...we are a very busy property, and in the winter everyone wants rooms with a single king bed. I apologize for not being able to get you one in a different part of the hotel. 3) we advertise partial beach views, because that is what they are. We have many guest that love the views and come frequently. 4) Our rooms start on the 2nd floor and Tortuga's is a one story property, so only the rooms on the 1st level have an obstructed view. All of the other floors have nice reviews. lastly, the balconies face east and west, so all of thee rooms have either a sunrise, or sunset view, depending on what side of the hotel you are on. We do appreciate this review, and I would love to have you back. If you decide to come back, I will give you a discounted rate, and I'll make an effort to get you on an upper floor. We never want anyone to leave feeling we didn't take care of them, and I would love a second chance to prove it. Best regards, James Marx
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#13 Business Hotel in Galveston
#13 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing