We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best place to stay in Galveston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Galveston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stopped here for one night on our way home to Tennessee from a week in San Antonio. The value was great (only $100 for 4, 2 people in a bedroom and 2 people on a pull out couch). There was a full kitchen (fridge, microwave, dishwasher, and 2 burners). Also, there is access to a washer and dryer. The décor was modern and pleasant. The room appeared clean. Many rooms have a view of the ocean. The hotel is located on a quiet, spacious beach (as previous reviewers said, this is ON the beach, unlike almost every other hotel in the town). There are lots of shells washed up on the beach so it would be a great place to bring kids.
We really enjoyed the outdoor pool and hot tub. The pool was modern and well kept. The hot tub was connected to the edge of the pool for easy access to move back and forth between the two.
The only negative thing about our stay was that in the room, several of the light bulbs in the lamps were burned out and there aren’t any overhead lights. Also to be forewarned, this is more of a condo type stay, so don’t expect a maid and fresh towels each day (you can pay extra for this). Overall, I would recommend the Escapes hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summerhydrangea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    150
    36
    21
    19
See reviews for
236
140
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We had an amazing time at Escapes. Unlike the places along Seawall, this place is RIGHT ON THE BEACH. It doesn't get any better than this. We loved our one bedroom "apartment". It had a great kitchen and living area. Perfect for what we needed. Everyone we encountered while there was great. We had a great time and we will definitely be back again!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliotts09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

This is our first time staying at this location. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was small, but who goes to the beach for the room size? The beach was so close and convenient. The room was spotless and had all the amenities necessary. The washer/dryer was an added plus for all the towels we used. Couldn't have asked for a better location - away from all the crowds. This place is perfect for couples, families, or anyone wanting a beach vacation! Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fireladyFtWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We had never stayed here before but have traveled to Galveston many times. This was a noce place to stay, close to a nice part of the beach. We had the smallest room available. Myself and a friend and our 2 children. It was fine in size for us. It has a great boardwalk to the ocean and a lovely pool. We will stay again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We enjoy taking mini vacations within a day's drive of our house and frequent Galveston a few times a year. As we always travel and stay when school is in I can't comment on this property during weekends/holidays/summers.

Staff was courteous and check-in was quick. The condos are of newer construction, are of reasonable shape and the room we were in showed little sign of the age of the property. Very little belied the fact this place was struck by a hurricane a year ago - the dune in front of the room looked to be pre-Ike.

The pool/whirlpool area is extremely nice and was little used by others the time we were there. Towels were provided in the check-in area at pool side and were most welcomed. From there it is a very short stroll over the walkway to the beach, very convenient.

Once again the room was very clean and showed little wear for its age (5 years.) All amenities were provided - dish washing soap, laundry detergent, paper towels, bath soap and shampoo - one could stay here w/ little more than the clothes on their backs and a toothbrush! The rooms are laid out where there should be little noise in the comings and goings of others on the same floor. We heard very little from those on our floor during our stay.

I was offered a gift card to Landry's for an informal 20 minute interview from Guest Relations. It was there that I gleaned some information on the cleanliness of the room I was in - I was told they periodically steam clean upholstery and it shows! I've stayed at other condos where I was afraid to sit on the furniture or at least cover it up with the extra bed linens, not here; so I believe them.

Covered parking could be coveted, seeing as to how little there is in relation to other rooms but if you can get it, there is no way you'll get door dings (a pet peeve) as the next car is three feet away. Those that are savvy will pull forward if they have other drivers in the room, as the parking places are deep enough for two cars.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joenotyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at Escapes. The pool is great, and love the convenience to the beach, esp the boardwalk to it.
We are timeshare owners and were disappointed in the maintenance of the unit, broken handle on microwave, light out over stove, front burner doesn't heat properly, slow draining sink in bathroom, and shower door will not close. Most of these problems should have been reported by housekeeping, and taken care of prior to our arrival. We are waiting for maintenance to come to complete the repairs.
Although the sofa is comfortable, it's seen better days as well as the pillows on the uncomfortable bed.I would have also liked carpeting in the living area. I don't like to wall on bare, cold ceramic floors. At least put an area rug around the sofa.
Additional charges were posted for toilet paper, paper towels, plastic bags
Not sure if I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadybugQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We've spent the last 3 summers going to Galveston and every where we've went, the beaches have been crowded and here, it's just right. We rented the 2 Bedroom Elite, which wasn't bad, but what we THOUGHT was going to be just a two bedroom turned out to be two single bedrooms with a common room in between. W33A&B. The only real downfall to this was we were staying with my parents in one room and we in the other with a split of 5 kids in between us so we wanted to leave the doors open which pretty much blocked us off from our bedroom. Other than that, the kitchens were stocked with dishes, silverware, & glasses. Also with pots and pans which made it so much easier. The housekeeping guy was still in the room when we got there, (Oh, which by the way, our check in wasn't until 4pm and they let us go ahead and check in at 12:30pm.) and once he seen how many people would be there, he made sure that we had PLENTY of towels and was just so nice. We really appreciated his service and even made sure we left him a star.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloveskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
8.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
8.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Address: 11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6293 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galveston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort offers a wonderfully relaxing experience for couples and families alike. This quiet beachfront resort is located on the Texas Gulf coast south near the historic port city of Galveston. The city is a charming, Victorian-era treasure filled with authentic period architecture and strong echoes of the 1800s. Set away from the bustle of downtown, you'll enjoy villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. All villas feature private balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The heated, outdoor infinity-edge pool and large hot tub offer direct, waterfront beach access and a new recreation area. Kids enjoy half-court basketball, shuffleboard court, beach volleyball and tetherball, while you'll love the fitness center available to guests 24/7 and picnic areas for outdoor dining. A small Marketplace store is available for guest convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Gulf At Galveston Hotel Galveston
Escapes To The Gulf Galveston
Escapes Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing