We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and we'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Lubbock
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay and we'll be back.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family (kids age 8, 11) truly enjoyed the Galveston Beach Resort. We stayed Tues-Sat during early June 2013. The staff was incredible and very helpful. There was remodeling going on during the day (10A-4P), but we were outside exploring the beach, pool or Galveston strip during this time any way. The room was more than I expected with a 'full' kitchenette, separate bedroom, full bath, fold out sleeper and small balcony with a view of the Gulf. The a/c worked great. There was a washer/dryer that was between our room and the adjacent room. There was no restaurant on site. The resort is a few miles from the strip - which we enjoyed. We look forward to returning to this resort next summer.

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
It’s so wonderful to hear from you about your recent stay with us. We love hearing about our guests having great vacations, and our staff being able to help you stay that much better. We appreciate your patience with our renovations, as we want to make sure that our property is the best that it can be for all of our guests. You couldn’t give us any higher compliment than a return stay and we hope to see you again soon for more vacation fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    172
    45
    29
    24
See reviews for
276
165
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We chose this property due to its location and high reviews posted all over the web. This property is located a few miles down from the Seawall, away from all the hustle and bustle. If you want to relax and unwind, this place is great. However, please understand, this is a TIME SHARE. Therefore, it does not operate like a regular hotel. There are NO services! You will not receive housekeeping of ANY KIND during your stay. If you want clean towels, you will have to wash them yourself. Granted, they do provide you with 2 boxes of laundry soap and a washer/dryer unit shared with the room next to you. If you want food, you are on your own, as well. The hotel is approximately 1.5 miles from the nearest Wal-Mart or Kroger and restaurants on Seawall.

We booked the 1-bedroom Queen suite for us and our 8 year old son. This suite was adequate, but none of the pics online show what this room type is actually like. This suite was quite small in comparison to the other suites depicted. The kitchen was a small galley kitchen with no oven. Our sink had one bin and rattled like it was about to take off every time we turned it on. I was disappointed, to say the least, especially after all the other pics showed a full kitchen with range/oven. If space is a concern, pay the extra money and book the larger suite. Our bathroom was small, as well. It had a shower/tub combo and a small sink with absolutely NO counter space. Our bedroom was nice. It appeared to have new carpet and fresh paint. The bed was comfy and the closet had an in-room safe. I like that! Last, the cable TV did not offer any premium channels (HBO, Showtime, etc).

The absolute best thing about this property is the pool area and the vicinity to the beach. This is where we feel we got our money's worth. The pool was beautiful, well-kept, and not too crowded. The beach is literally steps away. You can cross over the walkway and be there in minutes. Bring your own chairs and equipment, including towels. The hotel does not provide beach towels-only pool towels. We spent a great deal of time between the two, and I must say, it was wonderful. The beach is not private, but it had a private feel, especially if you see the public beach activity.

We definitely plan to return to this location. We just plan to pay the extra money and book the larger suite. It's a great place to go, as long as you understand the concept of what this place is.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get the larger suite! Your balcony will be bigger, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JENoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello and welcome home from your recent vacation stay with us. We always love to hear from our guests how they spent their getaways with us. You are correct that we are a timeshare property, and that there are some differences when you stay with us. You are correct that there no traditional daily housekeeping like in a hotel, however housekeeping services are always available on demand. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the quiet and tranquility that our resort has to offer. You couldn’t give us any higher compliment than a return stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stroll to the beach down a boardwalk past sand dunes for a relaxing escape instead of crossing a busy thoroughfare and passing a concrete sea wall with crowds of vacationers. The biggest drawback is that it is a bit of a drive from the hub of activity and restaurants, is also its biggest asset.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crushski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi there, it’s so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent vacation with us. We’re happy that you enjoyed your villa and hope you found the relaxation you were looking for. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hotel with beach access. No road inbetween like most hotels in Galveston. It's a few miles from restaurants and shops but worth it since the beaches are not crowded with locals and it's much more private. You can rent chairs and umbrella for $20-30 on the beach (not affiliated with hotel). Beautiful place!

Room Tip: Maid service is not available during the stay. Rooms are cleaned prior to arrival, and after you lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello and welcome home from your recent stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than hearing that our guests enjoyed their vacations. We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend and enjoyed the hotel and staff. Sandy is a very sweet lady. The room is a great setup just like you were at home. The dishes werent washed when we came in and my wife said the dryer was outdated and didnt work well. The construction on 5th floor was barely noticed. I recommend this hotel for any family!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jklon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your vacation stay with us. We’re so happy to hear that your stay lived up to your expectations, and you enjoyed your time in and around the resort. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC, OK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I wanted to give this place a great review. One of the few hotels directly on the beach, we were looking forward to staying here. We stayed from Juen 15th through 18th. Check in went well because we were late getting down there. Our room was right by the elevator and it appeared that at the time only one of two elevators were working in the building. The elevator noise ran constantly with a break maybe between midnight and 4am. Additionally, our room was situated next to the housekeeping laundry room, so every time a commercial washer or dryer was running, we could hear it.

The room itself was nice with a small balcony overlooking the pool and part of the beach. The bed and pull out bed were both older and uncomfortable. The beach area is public but on the weekdays was very quiet. Travel to and from the main areas of Galveston were easy.

Now, who schedules CONSTRUCTION during peak travel times? A large corporation who could not care less about its travelers, thats who! Starting on Monday (thankfully we left on Tuesday) at around 8:30am, the construction started. A jackhammer or Sawzall was being used on the fourth or fifth floore on the other end of the building and it was rattling the pictures on our walls in our room. There was absolutely no way to spend any time in the room due to the loud noise and putting a small child down for a nap was next to impossible. I had to go drive our son around in the car. The walls were literally vibrating from the construction and it continued with only short breaks until around 6pm. When I asked the staff about it, all I got was a smile and "sorry about that." In addition, we contacted Holiday Inn corporate last week and have still not heard back from them. For the price we paid per night for the room (Saturday night was outragious!) I would like to think that something more could be done besides "sorry about that."

I do not recommend this place right now. Maybe if they can get the renovations done (try doing it in the winter next time) this place will be great.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a room away from the elevators and the hotel staff areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to reach out to us with a review of your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the noise that you experienced. We strive to keep our guests away from the noise o that you can have the best vacation experience possible. We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We would love the opportunity to host you again to show you how much fun vacationing with us can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The BEST place to stay in Galveston...right on the beach with no seawall between you and the water. The room was amazing... I don't know which was more impressive - the separate living room, the balcony large enough for four chairs plus room to move around, the full kitchen inlcuding a washer/dryer, or the location ON the beach. I didin't take a photo but the bath has a seperate tub and shower which is nicer than most. The only downside is that the property is about a mile past the touristy seawall area...but we prefer being in a quiet residential area so we didn't mind the drive to restaurants and activities. We will stay here everytime we go to Galveston!

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hallway so our balcony was larger and had an entrance from both the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your vacation stay with us. We’re so happy to hear that your stay lived up to your expectations, and you enjoyed your time in and around the resort. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
8.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
8.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
8.0 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5.4 mi away
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Address: 11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6293 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galveston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort offers a wonderfully relaxing experience for couples and families alike. This quiet beachfront resort is located on the Texas Gulf coast south near the historic port city of Galveston. The city is a charming, Victorian-era treasure filled with authentic period architecture and strong echoes of the 1800s. Set away from the bustle of downtown, you'll enjoy villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. All villas feature private balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The heated, outdoor infinity-edge pool and large hot tub offer direct, waterfront beach access and a new recreation area. Kids enjoy half-court basketball, shuffleboard court, beach volleyball and tetherball, while you'll love the fitness center available to guests 24/7 and picnic areas for outdoor dining. A small Marketplace store is available for guest convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Gulf At Galveston Hotel Galveston
Escapes To The Gulf Galveston
Escapes Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing