We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We bought a half off deal to stay one night. I sincerely wish we would have purchased more than one. It was a steal. They let us pay an extra $30 to book a lock off, which allowed us to have 7 people there. The king suite with a whirlpool tub and a larger kitchen was fabulous! The other room was significantly smaller, with a queen bedroom and a sleeper sofa. It would be enough for two people, but a tight squeeze. It would be a great place for an extended stay, since the kitchen allows for you to cook, and was fully stocked. The two rooms we had shared a washer/dryer. Each unit even came with goodies such as dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent, and fabric softener. The front desk offered a small library of movies, books, and board games, which was a nice touch. We'd definitely like to stay here again. Unfortunately, the regular prices might be a little too high for us. The location is slightly secluded, with easy access to the beach. However, it is close enough to restaurants and shops to make it a perfect location.

Room Tip: If you have more than two people, you might want to pay the slightly higher rate to stay in a king r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franchesca_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi there. It’s so great to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us. How great that you were able to get away with your group for a vacation stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the amenities both in the room and around the resort. It’s always nice to spoil yourself on vacation. We would love to have you back again for more fun. Make sure to keep an eye on our deals as we love offering our guests promotions. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    152
    36
    21
    20
See reviews for
237
143
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed two nights/one day at the hotel over the New Year holiday. The rooms were clean and attractive, and the views of the beach were especially nice. Our only gripe is the required after 4 p.m. check-in, and ... even worse ... the before 10 a.m. check-out. It seemed to shortened our enjoyment of the property by a day. My advise is to book one night longer than you intend; this way your daytime hours will match the nighttime hours of your stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank sixty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
It’s great to hear about your New Year’s stay with us. We’re so pleased to hear that your villa was the perfect place to spread out and relax on vacation. We apologize that the check-in and out times did not fit your vacation schedule. Our housekeeping staff is busy between these hours refreshing the villas for our future guests. However, you are always welcome to ask for late check-out. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our room was beautifully decorated, overlooking the pool and the ocean. Being ON the beach--out of the hotel row crowds--was wonderfully relaxing. We appreciated using the full kitchen, but the restaurants are close enough to enjoy good meals in town as well. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reina1Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello there and thanks for stopping by the say hello and let us know about your stay. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and your villa. We love being a great place to stay for our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I booked the room through Groupon. Holiday Inn Vacations has acquired the property so it is undergoing renovation but we were not affected. Everything in the room is new. Comfortable bed. The decor is easy on the eye, mostly blues and browns. Clean! Clean!
I was disappointed to see the stove was not a glass cooktop style. It had been a while since I had seen a stove with the coils for heat!
The view is good from inside rooms. The pool is very nice.
Staff was very friendly.
Looking forward to going back next summer!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SweetScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I purchased a Groupon to stay one night and wish we could have stayed more!
The location of the hotel was excellent... off the beaten path, just the way I like it. Away from the crowd...

The hotel is in the process of being re branded as a Holiday Inn Club Vacations and is being renovated. I have to say we were a bit worried when we drove up to see all the heavy machinery and workers. It was a little confusing to navigate our way to the temporary office, but once we found it the staff was so nice and helpful.

We got a room on the west side with a pool (and beach view). It was a great view to watch the sunrise/set.
The room was absolutely beautiful. Everything was brand new, freshly painted, and well decorated. The kitchen and bathroom were well stocked and very clean. The bed was super comfy and clean. I was floored to see the whirlpool tub and stand alone tiled shower. There was a washer/dryer combo, DVD player, and even an iPod docking station! Overall, I felt like I was at home.

The [infinity edge] pool and hot tub are great. And its just a short walk to the beach. Also available are a basketball hoop, sand volleyball court, tether ball, horse shoes, and picnic tables with grill.

Despite the inconvenience and confusion from the renovations, I gave this hotel 5 stars for the location, the wonderful staff, and the beautiful accommodations. We will be returning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccibarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit for a college friend reunion. The unit was recently remodeled and beautiful. The beds were very comfortable with great bedding. I appreciated having a ceiling fan in the bedroom, and it was nice to have 2 bathrooms and plenty of elbow room. We had fantastic weather while we were there and spent most of our time on the balcony, an excellent spot for sunset and sunrise! The location is fantastic with a boardwalk to the beach. (Most of the hotels in Galveston are across the street from the beach. The street is not the view I want from my balcony!) We stayed December 8, on the west side, and the lobby was under construction. We had to look for signs directing us to the temporary lobby, but once we located it, the staff was efficient, professional and friendly. They are in the process of changing the name of the property. We did not see a sign indicating Galveston on the Gulf. Our GPS took us directly to the address, so no problem. I would recommend this spot to anyone desiring a beach vacation in Galveston. Great spot!

Room Tip: Ask about construction. It looked like the East wing was still being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just returned from 5 great days at Galveston Escapes. Although there is some renovation going on, the friendly and helpful people are making up for any inconvenience. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, great bedding and a fully stocked kitchen. Great pool and only a short walk to the beach made for a perfect stay away from all the crowds in town. The ladies at the desk made everything easy, with no hassle. I hope they are well compensated for a job well done!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, choose whether to watch sunrise or sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KEMPER62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
8.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
8.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Address: 11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6293 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galveston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort offers a wonderfully relaxing experience for couples and families alike. This quiet beachfront resort is located on the Texas Gulf coast south near the historic port city of Galveston. The city is a charming, Victorian-era treasure filled with authentic period architecture and strong echoes of the 1800s. Set away from the bustle of downtown, you'll enjoy villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. All villas feature private balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The heated, outdoor infinity-edge pool and large hot tub offer direct, waterfront beach access and a new recreation area. Kids enjoy half-court basketball, shuffleboard court, beach volleyball and tetherball, while you'll love the fitness center available to guests 24/7 and picnic areas for outdoor dining. A small Marketplace store is available for guest convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Gulf At Galveston Hotel Galveston
Escapes To The Gulf Galveston
Escapes Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing