We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Dickinson, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WE LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We will be returning every year for our anniversary. We had our wedding on the beach. Everything was so amazing. The other quests and workers were all so nice and really made us feel like family. Everyone is still talking about how nice the place was and how much fun everyone had.

Room Tip: relax and enjoy yourselves =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGM00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    163
    39
    22
    20
See reviews for
249
155
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I never liked living out of a suitcase while on vacation. The newly refurbished Escapes - now named Galveston on the Gulf, made us feel right at home while relaxing on vacation. We stayed in a suite with king bedroom, large bath with whirlpool tub and walk in shower. Two TVs in separate rooms with many channels to choose from means no fighting over programming. Washer and Dryer in the suite means I didn't need to pack that many clothes. Full kitchen means we'll not have to have Pizza for Thanksgiving dinner and also can save $$ on restaurant meals that, so far, haven't been better than I can cook here and I'm not that great of a cook! If I knew there was a blender, I would have brought some rum! There is still construction going on, but we have not been bothered by it too much and it looks as though they are almost done. We will look into booking next year before we leave this year.

Room Tip: Bring or buy food when you get hear and enjoy all the comforts. If you want to sit on the beach, br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenSingleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Escapes has nice, practical rooms with full kitchens and washer/dryers. It's not a "romantic" getaway type of place, but it's fantastic for anyone who wants all the comforts of home while on vacation. Lots of Galveston resorts are across the seawall and you have to carry everything across the busy street. Escapes is ON the beach with a boardwalk leading down to the water. The beach area is spacious and doesn't get too crowded. The pool gets kind of crowded at times, but that's pretty standard. The rooms are really comfortable with jacuzzi tubs and lots of room. The elevators are slow and it's a 10-20 minute drive to get back into the heart of Galveston...which can be good or bad depending on your preference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hannahtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

we are Interval Intl members, and thinking of trying to exchange to Galveston island sometime so on this visit we looked at the two timeshares listed. Escapes! is quite a way from most of the town (at 9 mile road), and 70% of it is being renovated to turn it into a Holiday Inn property (I think still a timeshare). There were no rooms available but we toured a unit and looked at the beach and pool area. It all looks good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tico8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We bought the Groupon deal and used it right away on October 23rd. Construction isn't too bad right now but it's about to pick up. Overheard staff talking about major renovations beginning very soon, like within the week. If you are booking in November, be prepared to deal with noise and workers. Had a great stay. Wonderful location and well layed out space. So nice to walk right out to the beach. Ice maker turned off in refrigerator when we got here so if you want an iced drink buy ice before you get here. No ice maker on property. Another guest was leaving same time I went to get ice and said he was doing the same thing. Also, be prepared to check out early. Groupon says that check out is 11am but the desks wants you to check out at 10am.

Room Tip: Liked the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived at this hotel in late September, and were greeted at the door with a sign "Pardon our dust". The information at check-in confirmed that there were major renovations in progress since before we had made our reservations in August, and thus management had not informed their booking agencies that the facilities would be limited and noisey. Two diesel powered "cherry-pickers" were in operation during the day (except Sunday) which completely drowned out the sounds of the nearby surf.

This facility is U-shaped which focuses the noise in the pool area. The western leg of the U is actually behing a public beach falcillity. The first night we had a room on the second floor inside the U near the corner. The view of the beach was quite limited and the noise from the pool area contunued past 11 pm. Management was able to move us to a more beachfront room for the second night, and the experience was more postive similar to the other reviews until the diesels kicked off at 8:15 the following morning.

We had chosen this hotel due to its beach front location and were hoping for a relaxing beach vacation. We would only recommend staying here again if were could confirm the room location at reservation time and that there were no renovations in progress.

Room Tip: If you are staying here for the beach, get a room on the east wing near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I loved our stay here. The only negative I had was the amount of seaweed that they had not cleaned from the beach. It is close enough to downtown to where you don't feel the drive and far enough away not to deal with all the trafic. It was quiet and beautiful.

Room Tip: The couches are not comforable beds for children so ensure they have their own room or you have an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sksanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
8.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
7.9 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Address: 11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6293 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galveston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort offers a wonderfully relaxing experience for couples and families alike. This quiet beachfront resort is located on the Texas Gulf coast south near the historic port city of Galveston. The city is a charming, Victorian-era treasure filled with authentic period architecture and strong echoes of the 1800s. Set away from the bustle of downtown, you'll enjoy villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. All villas feature private balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The heated, outdoor infinity-edge pool and large hot tub offer direct, waterfront beach access and a new recreation area. Kids enjoy half-court basketball, shuffleboard court, beach volleyball and tetherball, while you'll love the fitness center available to guests 24/7 and picnic areas for outdoor dining. A small Marketplace store is available for guest convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Gulf At Galveston Hotel Galveston
Escapes To The Gulf Galveston
Escapes Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing