We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal
Ranked #10 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic museum with lots of history! Free admission for military when we were there. Definitely worth a stop,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Prairiegirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    167
    55
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great learning place”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The smell and the look of the train cars is just awesome. You can walk through the old train cars and just close your eyes and the smell and feel of the cars just brings you back in time. Great place to bring the kids. lots for them to do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tjzizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Before & After”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had the opportunity to visit the Museum several time over the years. The first time when my daughter four. we were fortunate in that the museum was unscathed by storms and the exhibits were in intact. We took pictures and walked through the various cars. We took a short ride on the train and enjoyed our time there.
We returned again when my grand daughter was four and retraced our tracks of some 25 years earlier, riding the same trains and taking pictures at the same points. Both experiences were great. Unfortunately time and one terrible hurricane have damaged much of the rolling stock and while repairs and restoration has taken place, much of the atmosphere has been lost. Still it is something to see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pancake701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Texas History at its Finest”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

if your a Texas History enthusiast then i highly recommend visiting. Alot of interesting information and the trains are a sight to see

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Get there early for ride!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The site advertises that on Saturdays you can take a 15 to 20 minute train ride on Saturdays from 11:00 to 2:00. We got there a little before 2 and were told the trains rides were done. The lady told us they recommend getting there at 11 if you want a ride. Would have been nice to have that on the website as our 4 year old was upset. But, the rest was interesting. They had several cars and cabooses to walk through. They had some trains dating back to the 1800s that you could see from the outside and look inside windows. A lot of pieces are still being restored after the place was flooded during Ike. Fun time and we plan to go back and try to get a ride next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelissaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing