We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work in progress”

Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal
Ranked #10 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I enjoyed the "haunted train station" (white figures of people as they would have been back in the day). They have some unusual types of rail cars, like the post office car, for example. Quite a few of the exhibits are being worked on, no doubt they are trying to recover from the effects of hurricane Ike. The ticket to get in was only $6, very reasonable for what it is.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    165
    55
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Real Good Museum if you are into Trains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Took my kids there and it was interesting. I am not a train person, but my two sons are. They enjoyed the museum.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lots of Trains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I don't know what has happened since Ike but when I went it was interesting. Lot of old train cars, brings back memories for anyone that road trains many years ago. There is also a wonderful set up of model trains that is spectacular. They also offer a short train ride.

Helpful?
1 Thank galvestonangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhome, TX
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sit in the Engineer's Seat of Real Train Engines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We probably spent an 1-1/2 hours at the Railroad Museum and thought is was very interesting. Most of that time was outside going in and out of the old trains set up for display.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“kids will have a ball”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Though they are still doing a lot of work to recover from the hurricane kids will love this place. Great family outing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bruce s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing