We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Drive”

East End Historic District
Ranked #15 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Nice Drive”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I drove up and down the streets and admired the beautiful Victorian mansions. To practice my photography, I got out and took pictures of a few of the homes from different angles. I could only imagine what some of the home must look like inside and I was impressed at how many were in the process of being restored. The East End Historic District has a lot of beauty to offer it's viewers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marlenalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    72
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Mississippi
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Must take a walking tour”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

we explored on our own and walked the streets taking pictures and dreaming of living in this beautiful area. Historic throwback to a wonderful prideful time

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redcurls875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphos, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Take Cool Tours”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Get your tickets for Cool Tours with the Island Pass - Best value. If you have never been to Galveston before do the tour first.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MPHDelphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
515 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very interesting histories of these homes”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visited this area recently during the Galveston Home Tour. We didn't get to see all of the homes on tour, but the ones we saw were so very interesting. As people move back into the area, the homes are getting restored to their former glory. I definitely recommend seeing this area!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank houstonnative47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Homes”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We really loved the history of these well maintained homes. It was interesting to see the plaques on the front of the homes that signified surviving a storm etc.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank coolmama_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East End Historic District also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to East End Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing