We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful houses”

East End Historic District
Ranked #15 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Beautiful houses”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Good to walk around or drive slowly. Very photogenic. Quiet neighbourhood with lovely old and restored homes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wilfridblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    72
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hmm.....”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I didn't see much on the East End. There are some hotels on the East End. The beach wasn't anything to write home about but it was pretty desolate. I wouldn't waste your time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KandiNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Free Galveston!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I never get tired of driving up and down the streets in the Historical District. There is major renovation going on here and the old sad homes are all getting a facelift and a new coat of paint. The District has really come alive since Hurricane IKE and whoever thought of carving the old dead oaks into sculptures was a genius. And all of this is free. Don't expect Savannah or Charleston, but this old District really has its own charm. It's not that large so you can easily see most of the district in an hour or two. We always thought it would be great to rent a convertible and drive around.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jt093812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORENO VALLEY
Level Contributor
585 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Victorians”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Most of the really huge mansions are along Broadway. But this area is full of Victorian homes. Most are well cared for and brightly painted.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
Level Contributor
219 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“READ THIS BEFORE YOU GO!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This is very interesting! My wife and I loved the history. TIP: take your time. Pay attention to the historical markers and the water marks on the buildings! It will blow you away! It's amazing and shocking to see and understand the history of this town.

Helpful?
3 Thank LightHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East End Historic District also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to East End Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing