We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned!”

La King's Confectionery
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Katy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love their Chocolate Sodas! They taste just like I remember them from many years ago. They also have a large selection of anything ranging from taffy to chocolate covered almonds.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    175
    42
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Sundae”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a delicious hot chocolate Fudge sundae at this wonderful old fashioned American style ice cream soda store. Great range of Classic American candies. Lively atmosphere and great staff make this a popular place in downtown Galveston. Prices are reasonable. Good family stop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Candy”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The candy was great, watched the folks making fudge was interesting.
We didn't try a soda, we were killing time before dinner.
Must place to stop in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daveintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sweets for the Sweet!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I had the best Root Beer Float ever! One grandson had a mint chocolate shake that was delicious and one tasted the chocolate haystack. Fun place if you like malts, shakes, sodas made from scratch and chocolate of any kind!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValentineRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique place”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We came by here on recommendation and because our sweet tooth was calling. We both got ice cream....we had hoped for cake, but they don't serve that. The ice cream was good, but not great. They also have fudge and candy, but we didn't try any. The atmosphere takes you back in time....looks like an old fashion soda parlor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing