We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ice cream”

La King's Confectionery
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Galveston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The ice cream”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Is a family friendly place, the icecream is great, the gourmet chocolates are so good, great atmosphere ,clean, great coffee. The location is great The strand easy to find.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    162
    41
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trophy Club, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“MUST STOP everytime we visit Galveston”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We go out of our way everytime we are in Galveston to visit La King's. Great candy, soda fountain and ice cream!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarinDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Old Fashioned Ice Cream Sodas”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Best old fashioned ice cream soda from a soda fountain I had since I was a kid in New York. I made a point of returning the next day since I found La King's to be a gem.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quietman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
260 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Sweet Fun!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A combination ice-cream parlor and candy factory/store reminiscent of those old-fashioned shoppes from the 1920s. The atmosphere is sweet fun. You can even watch the homemade candy and fudge being made at various times in the rear of the building although I didn't look at the printed schedule they had posted. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Resingle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best sweet treat in Galveston”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

You must take time to visit La King's if you have a sweet tooth. This is my idea of an old fashion candy store with a sode counter, ice cream, watch them making fudge and taffy. Fun for the whole family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing