We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Old Fashioned Ice Cream Sodas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
Ranked #1 of 12 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Old Fashioned Ice Cream Sodas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Best old fashioned ice cream soda from a soda fountain I had since I was a kid in New York. I made a point of returning the next day since I found La King's to be a gem.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quietman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    130
    33
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
239 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Sweet Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A combination ice-cream parlor and candy factory/store reminiscent of those old-fashioned shoppes from the 1920s. The atmosphere is sweet fun. You can even watch the homemade candy and fudge being made at various times in the rear of the building although I didn't look at the printed schedule they had posted. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Resingle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best sweet treat in Galveston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

You must take time to visit La King's if you have a sweet tooth. This is my idea of an old fashion candy store with a sode counter, ice cream, watch them making fudge and taffy. Fun for the whole family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GregPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for sweets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

On a VERY hot/ humid day in Galveston, my husband stopped in here for the cool air and something sweet. We certainly were not disappointed. We both had the coffee ice cream which was delicious. If chocolate is your thing, this is the place for you! They had at least 100 trays filled with chocolates & sweets of all kinds. The atmosphere is like an old time ice cream parlor and I would visit here again!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The sweets are average at best. The employees are nothing special. I would not walk back down the street for such poor service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Txdelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing