We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sundaes & Shakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sundaes & Shakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a certified child at heart I was incredibly excited to get to La King's. My partner and I got there in time to watch the candy chef make one of my favourite treats - salt water taffy. However, it was quite chaotic and decided to go back on another day. On our second trip there the lines were more manageable and we were able to get a sundae and shake in a timely manner and a table to sit at to boot! The sundae was a perfect treat with a proper balance of fudge and creamy vanilla ice cream. Nick's shake was smooth and refreshing and enough for two. La King's serves many house made custom and traditional flavours, but we opted for a taste of classic vanilla. La
Kings also offers many classic candies and chocolates. La Kings allows the little kids and the big kid inside to come out and play.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    145
    35
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
xxx
Level Contributor
527 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 905 helpful votes
“Back to good old days with time machine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since this old fashioned sweet shop is on the top of TA's rating, we decided to skip dessert at our lunch place and came here. We were not disappointed at all. It felt like we were visiting to a past time where food and desert are made from real milk and real sugar. I'm still struggling to understand why some people choose to drink tasteless 0% milk, rather than eating good food in moderation.
Here... there are awesome, rich homemade ice cream and icecream float, banana split, sundee all under the same roof. Other half of the place is filled with candies, taffy etc. (we didn't try those since we were quite full after lunch). Service is also great and only thing modern I can see in this place is a section for smooties!
- strawberry ice cream is really good. Not the cheapest one since 1 scoop is for 3.50$ (price is comparable to those small Ben and Jerry 1 pint cups) but this ice cream is as good as any premium ice cream you can have including B & J.
- Root beer float is also good (may be a popular item here).

I've been to many nostalgic ice cream/candy shops in US and Canada but this place could be the best I've been so far. It is also near popular cruise terminal and so, .... good business for them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love this store! There is more than enough to satisfy your sweet tooth! Ice cream, malts, floats, fountain sodas and so much candy to choose from. The salt water taffy is really good, bought the banana, watermelon and strawberry (all delicious). The milk chocolate pecan royal sand dollars and the dark chocolate cashew clusters are excellent! We will definitely return to try more on our next visit to Galveston!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 321Lisa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went here twice on our visit to Galveston. If you have a sweet tooth this place is amazing! So many candy options and they also have ice cream/ shakes. Will definitely be going here again when we go back to Galveston!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oriley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very cool place had a root beer float it was off the chain!also the candy is made in front of you,very fresh and tasty!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iphoneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing