We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
Ranked #1 of 15 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Whitehouse, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went here twice on our visit to Galveston. If you have a sweet tooth this place is amazing! So many candy options and they also have ice cream/ shakes. Will definitely be going here again when we go back to Galveston!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oriley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    145
    35
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very cool place had a root beer float it was off the chain!also the candy is made in front of you,very fresh and tasty!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iphoneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for sweets. The taffee is excellent and worth the stop. My wife and her friend got a chocolte malt and it was okay. Will go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barneyboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUMMY/ Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We so enjoyed our visit to this place. Very interesting how they make taffy. Even if you have seen it being made before, go see it again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank MK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW Area
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“As Good as My Childhood Memories!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

And even better, because now I can't eat sugar....so, what do you get there? I purchased some sugar free chocolates and they were the best I have had in some time. Eat them within a few days, though, because they're truly fresh and will lose some flavor and texture over time.

My daughter enjoyed an ice cream cone, my mother had a chocolate soda and my husband finished a massively large chocolate shake. They all enjoyed their treats immensely. My son purchased some taffy and also fruit wedges. All were devoured quickly. The staff, for the most part, is friendly and patient; Jennifer especially.

Beware of crowds when a cruise ship is in port, but well worth the visit. It could only have been better if they were making candy at the time. Otherwise, one of the highlights of our visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing