We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service could be better!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landry's

Landry's
Ranked #21 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service could be better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We sat at the bar to have dinner and drinks. First, the bartender seemed to be havingan issue with a girlfriend who had come to visit. After taking our order, he left to talk with her. When our food came, he was still talking, my food was dropped off by another staff person. The place was busy, so I patiently waited for silverware...after more than 5 mins I began nibbling on my dinner...using my fingers! My food was almost gone before we were able to get someones attention. My husband asked to speak with the manager. He was somewhat apologetic and offered us a free dessert. I explained my husband didn't eat dessert and I was on a diet. His response was, "I hope you come back". Service is lacking and the bar drinks were not up to par. This is the first negative review I've ever written.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    235
    142
    49
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not your typical Landry's experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I am generally a pretty big fan of Landry's restaurants and have been to many of their locations nationwide. I certainly do not recommend this location nor will I be back.

The server was not knowledgable about the daily special for lunch. I inquired as to portion size, he said lunch size which is smaller. He indicated it would be 6oz, so I agreed and ordered. It was flounder in white sauce with mushrooms and lump crab. The flounder was closer to 10oz, dry on the skinless side, and undercooked along the skin. The sauce was bland and the lump crab was dry and tasteless. The manager witnessed I didn't finish and approached to ask questions. I indicated that it was a dinner not lunch portion. He said he would be happy to remove part from the bill, as I ate very little. Thank goodness, as it was a dinner $ amount also.

There are a few other Landry restaurants in the area that are much better quality. I will keep that in mind on my next visit to Galveston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed the entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our first night we just went next door to Landry's for some seafood. We were surprised with the entertainment on the Rain Forest's patio which we had a great view of.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dallas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the view and the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Sitting on the patio with a Gulf breeze blowing in was fantastic. Our server was exceptional and very attentive to our needs. The food was warm and perfectly prepared exactly as ordered.
The location was also a bonus as it was across the parking lot from the Hilton.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pintailkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, Terrible Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family of four (two adults, two children) went there tonight for dinner. We we first seated at a table with ketchup all ofer the table cloths, not a little, it was like a whole bottle exploded. We were moved to a second table, which had a broken chair. The hostess acted like she had no clue of what to do so my husband exchanged the chair for another at a nearby, empty table. We sat for 20 minutes, which is fun with a 7 & 5 year old before our serVer showed up to take our drink order. It was another 15 minutes before he took our order and over an hour after being seated our food arrived. We had to ask a random person for drink refills and our stopped the manager to inquire about our food. When our food did come, a runner from the kitchen brought it out. We never saw our server from the time he took our order until he brought out our check. When I spoke to the manager on the way out he could care less!

We ate at the Rainforest Cafe next door the night prior and I have to say the food was about the same and the service was ten times better...and half the price!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MinMuellenborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landry's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Landry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing